Former Longford politician jailed for €2.6m money laundering
Frank Kilbride, a 70-year-old former Fine Gael politician from Ballinalee, Co Longford, pleaded guilty to three counts of money laundering totalling €2,604,564.05 through companies linked to Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness. The laundering took place between September 2017 and March 2019 and came to light during November 2019 searches connected to the kidnapping and torture of Kevin Lunney in Co Fermanagh. Kilbride was charged at Longford District Court in November 2023, pleaded guilty in December 2023, and was remanded in custody in July 2024. On 30 July 2024, Judge Kenneth Connolly at Longford Circuit Court sentenced him to four years and six months, suspending the final 15 months for three years with conditions including a ban on registering new companies.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged14 Nov
3 reports - In court9 Jan
2 reports - Convicted26 Jul
3 reports - Sentenced30 Jul
3 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Frank Kilbride, 70 (reports differ: 69), a former Fine Gael politician from Aughakilmore, Ballinalee, Co Longford, pleaded guilty to three counts of money laundering totalling €2,604,564.05 through companies linked to Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness.
- The laundering involved moving funds through three bank accounts, including a Permanent TSB account in Longford town and a Bank of Ireland account in Granard, to companies across Ireland, the UK and Europe.
- When
- The three charges cover periods between September 2017 and March 2019, with the main sums moved between October 2017 and March 2018.
- Cause
- The money was received from companies associated with Cyril McGuinness, known as 'Dublin Jimmy', who died of a heart attack during a police raid in the UK in 2019.
- Investigation
- The case emerged from November 2019 searches in Ireland, Northern Ireland and Buxton, UK, carried out on foot of warrants relating to the 2019 kidnapping and torture of Kevin Lunney in Co Fermanagh.
- Charges
- Kilbride was charged with three counts under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing Act 2010), involving approximately €10,000, €1,727,420.28 and €867,143.80.
- In court
- Kilbride was charged at Longford District Court in November 2023, pleaded guilty in December 2023, was remanded on continuing bail to January 2024, and was remanded in custody on 26 July 2024.
- Sentence
- On 30 July 2024, Judge Kenneth Connolly at Longford Circuit Court sentenced Kilbride to four years and six months, suspending the final 15 months for three years, with conditions including a ban on registering any company or business for three years post-release.
- Other details
- Kilbride told the court he is suffering from cancer and begged the judge not to let him die in prison; the judge noted a spectre of duress but said money laundering facilitates the financing of criminality.
- Kilbride sold TJO Developments for €3,000 in spring 2017 and told gardaí he perceived a remark from McGuinness about money left in the account as a threat.
113 statements extracted from the articles
- whatFrank Kilbride was charged with three counts of laundering at Longford District Court. (longfordleader.ie)
- whatKilbride has confirmed guilty pleas to three counts of money laundering involving property worth €2.6 million. (irishtimes.com)
- whatKilbride admitted laundering more than €2.6 million between 2017 and 2019. (rte.ie)
- whatFrank Kilbride, 70, is a former Fine Gael politician from Aughakilmore, Ballinalee, Co Longford. (irishtimes.com)
- whatIn spring 2017, Kilbride sold TJO Developments to a third party for €3,000. (irishtimes.com)
- whatOne TJO Developments account moved €1,727,427.28 and another moved €867,143.80 to companies across Ireland, the UK and Europe. (irishtimes.com)
- whatFrank Kilbride pleaded guilty to laundering over €2.6m through companies linked to Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness. (longfordleader.ie)
- whatKilbride pleaded guilty to three counts of laundering sums totalling €2,604,564.05 through three bank accounts. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe prosecution is linked to the Garda investigation into the 2019 kidnapping and torture of Kevin Lunney in Co Fermanagh. (irishtimes.com)
- whatA partial AIB bank statement was discovered in the name of WOI Plant Hire & Supplies Ltd, which provided details relating to TJO Developments. (irishtimes.com)
- whatOne bank account moved €1,727,427.28 and another moved €867,143.80 to companies across Ireland, the UK and Europe. (irishtimes.com)
- whatA third bank account, Kilbride's personal account, was linked to moving about €10,000 in funds. (irishtimes.com)
- whatFrank Kilbride, a former Cathaoirleach of Longford County Council, was jailed for money laundering. (longfordleader.ie)
- whatThe case involved the movement of over €2.6m through companies linked to Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness. (longfordleader.ie)
- whereThe offences are alleged to have taken place at locations within the state. (longfordleader.ie)
- whereKilbride, of Aughakilmore, Ballinalee, Co Longford, appeared at Longford District Court. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- whereKilbride lives in Aughakilmore, Ballinalee, Co Longford. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whereThe hearing took place at Longford Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe €1.7 million was moved through a Permanent TSB account in Longford town. (rte.ie)
- whereThe €867,143 was moved through a Bank of Ireland account in Granard. (rte.ie)
- whereThe case was heard at Longford Circuit Court. (longfordleader.ie)
- whenThe first charge covers dates between 27/09/2017 and 26/11/2017. (longfordleader.ie)
- whenThe second charge covers dates between 30/11/2017 and 15/03/2019. (longfordleader.ie)
- whenThe third charge covers dates between 05/10/2017 and 27/03/2018. (longfordleader.ie)
- whenKilbride pleaded guilty to the offences in November at Longford District Court. (irishtimes.com)
- whenOne laundering count relates to €1.7 million between 5 October 2017 and 27 March 2018. (rte.ie)
- whenThe laundering took place between October 2017 and March 2018. (irishtimes.com)
- whenOn 29 November 2019, Kilbride contacted gardaí to make a statement regarding TJO Developments after receiving a VAT bill from Revenue. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe money was moved between October 2017 and March 2018. (longfordleader.ie)
- causeThe money was received from companies associated with Cyril McGuinness, known as 'Dublin Jimmy'. (rte.ie)
- causeKilbride told gardaí he had sold the company TJO Developments for €3,000 in spring 2017. (longfordleader.ie)
- causeKilbride perceived a remark from Dublin Jimmy about money left in the account as a threat. (longfordleader.ie)
- investigationA psychiatric report and other reports on Kilbride are being prepared. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe laundering came to light during the investigation into the abduction and assault of Kevin Lunney in 2019. (rte.ie)
- investigationIn November 2019, searches were carried out in Ireland, Northern Ireland and Buxton, UK, on foot of warrants relating to the assault and abduction of Kevin Lunney. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationA partial AIB bank statement was discovered in the name of WOI Plant Hire & Supplies Ltd during those searches. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationIn November 2019, searches were carried out in the Republic, Northern Ireland and Buxton, UK, on foot of warrants relating to the assault and abduction of Kevin Lunney. (longfordleader.ie)
- investigationIn November 2019 gardaí searched premises in Ireland, Northern Ireland and Buxton, UK, under warrants linked to the assault and abduction of Kevin Lunney. (longfordleader.ie)
- investigationIn November 2019, searches were carried out in Ireland, Northern Ireland and Buxton, England on foot of warrants relating to the assault and abduction of Mr Lunney. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeFrank Kilbride faced three charges under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing Act 2010). (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe first charge concerns approximately €10,000 in proceeds of criminal conduct. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe second charge concerns approximately €867,143.80 in proceeds of criminal conduct. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe third charge concerns approximately €1,727,420.28 in proceeds of criminal conduct. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe total amount across the three charges is €2,604,564.08. (longfordleader.ie, leinsterexpress.ie, offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeKilbride was charged with three counts of laundering. (leinsterexpress.ie, offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeThe first count alleges laundering of about €10,000 between 27 September and 26 November 2017. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeThe second count alleges laundering of about €1,727,420.28 between 5 October 2017 and 27 March 2018. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeThe second count involves approximately €1,727,420.28. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeThe third count alleges laundering of about €867,143.80 between 30 November 2017 and 15 March 2019. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeThe third count involves approximately €867,143.80. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeThe first charge covers dates between 27 September 2017 and 26 November 2017, involving about €10,000. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeThe second charge covers dates between 5 October 2017 and 27 March 2018, involving about €1,727,420.28. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeThe third charge covers dates between 30 November 2017 and 15 March 2019, involving about €867,143.80. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeHe was sent forward for trial on guilty pleas to money laundering of €2.6 million. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe first charge covers various dates between September 27, 2017 and November 26, 2017 and about €10,000. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe second charge covers various dates between October 5, 2017 and March 27, 2018 and about €1,727,420.28. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe third charge covers various dates between November 30, 2017 and March 15, 2019 and about €867,143.80. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeThe three charges total €2,604,564.08. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeKilbride pleaded guilty to three charges of converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing and using criminal proceeds. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe charges relate to periods between September 2017 and November 2019 with property values of €1,727,420, €867,143 and €10,000. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKilbride pleaded guilty to three charges of money laundering. (rte.ie)
- chargeHe pleaded guilty to three counts of laundering sums totalling €2,604,564.05 through three bank accounts. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKilbride was charged with money laundering over €2.6m through companies linked to Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeKilbride pleaded guilty to three counts of money laundering totalling €2,604,564.05 through three bank accounts. (longfordleader.ie)
- chargeKilbride pleaded guilty to three counts of money laundering totalling €2,604,564.05 through three bank accounts associated with TJO Developments Ltd. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtGarda David Kerrigan gave evidence of the arrest, charge and caution to Judge Bernadette Owens. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtKilbride was released on bail on his own bond of €1,500 and an independent surety of €1,500, and is due to appear again before Longford District Court on December 5. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtHis bail conditions require him to sign on at Granard Garda Station each Saturday, surrender his passport, and be contactable 24/7. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtJudge Bernadette Owens remanded Kilbride on continuing bail. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtKilbride is due before Longford Circuit Criminal Court on 9 January 2024. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe case was sent forward for trial on guilty pleas. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtJudge Bernadette Owens remanded Kilbride on continuing bail to Longford Circuit Criminal Court on 9 January 2024. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtJudge Bernadette Owens remanded him on continuing bail to the Longford Circuit Criminal Court on January 9, 2024. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtKilbride's bail conditions were changed so he signs on once every two weeks instead of weekly. (irishtimes.com)
- courtKilbride was remanded on continuing bail to July 9. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case is also listed for mention on June 17. (irishtimes.com)
- courtKilbride was remanded in custody at Longford Circuit Court after his sentence hearing was adjourned. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge remanded Kilbride in custody because he did not want to give false hope of a non-custodial term. (rte.ie)
- courtKilbride is due to appear again at Longford Circuit Court the following Tuesday for his sentence to be finalised. (rte.ie)
- courtHe appeared before Longford Circuit Court on Friday 26 July 2024 and was remanded in custody. (irishtimes.com)
- courtKilbride will reappear before Longford Circuit Court on Tuesday 30 July 2024 for sentencing. (irishtimes.com)
- courtKilbride was remanded in custody by the judge. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtThe sentence was imposed at Longford Circuit Court. (longfordleader.ie)
- courtKilbride appeared before Longford Circuit Criminal Court on Tuesday. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe sentence hearing took place at Longford Circuit Court. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceThe judge said the offence will have to attract a significant custodial term. (rte.ie)
- sentenceThe judge indicated a custodial sentence would be imposed the following week. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceThe judge said he could not see any way of dealing with the matter on a non-custodial basis. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceKilbride was due to reappear before Longford Circuit Court for sentence on Tuesday, July 30. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceKilbride was jailed for three years and three months. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceThe judge sentenced Kilbride to four years and six months, suspending the final 15 months for three years. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceThe suspended part is subject to conditions, including that Kilbride does not register any company or business for three years after release. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceThe sentence was backdated to Friday 26 July. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceKilbride was banned from registering any new companies during the suspended sentence. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe judge imposed four years and six months in prison but suspended the final 15 months for three years, subject to conditions. (longfordleader.ie)
- sentenceOne suspension condition is that Kilbride does not register any company or business for three years post-release. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherThe article says Kilbride was sent forward for trial on guilty pleas. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherVictim impact statements do not arise in the case. (irishtimes.com)
- otherKilbride said he had received threatening calls from McGuinness. (rte.ie)
- otherThe judge noted a spectre of duress in the case but said money laundering facilitates the financing of criminality. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherKilbride is described as being of Aughakilmore, Ballinalee, Co Longford. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherKilbride is suffering from cancer and begged the judge not to let him die in jail. (irishtimes.com)
- otherCyril McGuinness died of a heart attack during a police raid on his home in the UK in 2019. (irishtimes.com)
- otherKilbride sold TJO Developments for €3,000 in the spring of 2017. (irishtimes.com)
- otherKilbride served three times as a Fine Gael councillor in Co Longford, elected in 1999, 2004 and 2009, and is a former mayor of Longford. (irishtimes.com)
- otherKilbride is a musician, music manager and presenter of a country music programme on Shannonside Radio. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe judge found the sheer quantum of money laundered to be an aggravating factor. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherThe judge described Kilbride as a very important cog, though not the organiser of the sophisticated structure. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherThe judge gave mitigation for the guilty plea, some cooperation and no relevant previous convictions. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherThe judge said he was not satisfied Kilbride's cooperation was full cooperation. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherKilbride has no relevant previous convictions. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherKilbride told the court he has cancer. (longfordleader.ie)
- otherKilbride's legal team came off record after a newspaper article detailed threats against him and his wife. (longfordleader.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 9 Aug2024'I’m not satisfied it was full cooperation' -Longford Circuit Court judge
Reports the sentence hearing: a term of three years and three months in custody after the judge suspended the final 15 months, with conditions including no company or business registration for three years post-release. Adds the judge's remarks on aggravating and mitigating factors and the sentence backdating to 26 July.
convicted, Frank Kilbride, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 30 Jul2024Former Fine Gael politician sentenced to three years for laundering cash for Cyril ‘Dublin Jimmy’ McGuinness
Sentencing report. Judge Kenneth Connolly imposed 4½ years (reduced from a headline six years) and suspended the final 15 months citing Kilbride's cancer. Kilbride was also banned from registering new companies during the suspended term.
convicted, Frank Kilbride, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 30 Jul2024Former Cathaoirleach of Longford County Council jailed for three years and three months
Reports the sentencing hearing at Longford Circuit Court: a four-year-six-month sentence with the final 15 months suspended, the conditions attached, the backdating to 26 July, the judge's remarks and the investigation background.
convicted, Frank Kilbride, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 28 Jul2024Former Longford politician remanded in custody on €2.6m money laundering linked to ‘Dublin Jimmy’
Reports the 28 July 2024 remand in custody after Kilbride's guilty plea, with sentencing set for the following Tuesday; adds the detective's account of the searches and Kilbride's statement to gardaí.
convicted, Frank Kilbride, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbridesuspect, Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness, named, irish (judged from name)Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness - 26 Jul2024Former Fine Gael politician remanded in custody in €2.6m money laundering case
Reports the guilty plea, remand in custody and judge's indication of a custodial sentence at Longford Circuit Court, with background on how the case emerged from searches linked to the Kevin Lunney abduction.
convicted, Frank Kilbride, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbridesuspect, Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness, male, named, irish (judged from name)Cyril 'Dublin Jimmy' McGuinness - 26 Jul2024Former cllr facing jail sentence over laundering charges
Reports that Kilbride was remanded in custody after his sentence hearing was adjourned, that the judge said the offence will attract a significant custodial term, and that the sentence is due to be finalised the following Tuesday. Gives the dates of the three laundering counts, the two bank accounts used, and the link to the Kevin Lunney investigation.
convicted, Frank Kilbride, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 9 Jan2024Former Fine Gael politician confirms guilty pleas on money laundering charges
Kilbride confirmed in court that he had pleaded guilty in November 2023 at Longford District Court. Bail conditions were eased, the case was adjourned to July 9, and a mention is set for June 17. A psychiatric report and other reports are being prepared.
accused, Frank Kilbride, 69, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 9 Jan2024Former Longford councillor and hotelier enters guilty plea to €2.6 million money laundering charges
Reports the District Court appearance, the three charges with their date ranges and amounts, the guilty pleas, and the remand to Longford Circuit Criminal Court on January 9, 2024. Gives the total as €2,604,564.08.
accused, Frank Kilbride, 69, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 18 Dec2023Former councillor in the Midlands enters guilty plea to multi-million money euro laundering charges
Adds the three charges with their date ranges and amounts, the court appearance and remand on bail to 9 January 2024, and states his age as 69 (the existing case records 70). The article gives the total as €2,604,564.08, where the existing case has €2,604,564.05.
accused, Frank Kilbride, 69, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 13 Dec2023Former Midland Fine Gael mayor and hotelier pleads guilty to multi-million money
Reports the Longford District Court appearance, the three money laundering counts with their amounts and date ranges, the total of €2,604,564.08, and the remand on continuing bail to 9 January 2024. The article says he was sent forward for trial on guilty pleas.
accused, Frank Kilbride, 69, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride - 14 Nov2023Longford man accused of laundering €2.6 million appears in court
Reports the Longford District Court appearance where Kilbride was charged with three money laundering counts and released on bail. Adds the amounts and date ranges for each charge, the bail terms, and the next court date of December 5.
accused, Frank Kilbride, 69, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Kilbride