Former BofI manager denies bank was negligent in Michael Lynn theft trial
Michael Lynn, a 55-year-old former solicitor, is on trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, accused of stealing around €27 million from seven financial institutions. The 21 theft counts cover offences in Dublin between October 23rd, 2006 and April 20th, 2007, and he has pleaded not guilty. On November 7th, 2023, former Ulster Bank relationship manager Stephen McCarthy told the court the potential in Lynn's overseas developments was not the reason for his €3.65 million loan in 2007. On November 8th, 2023, a former Bank of Ireland manager refused to accept that the bank was negligent in its lending, and the trial continues before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court7 Nov
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Michael Lynn, a 55-year-old former solicitor, is on trial accused of theft of around €27 million from seven financial institutions.
- Where
- The theft counts relate to offences in Dublin.
- When
- The 21 theft counts cover the period between October 23rd, 2006 and April 20th, 2007.
- Michael Lynn was given a €3.65 million loan in 2007.
- Cause
- The prosecution case is that Michael Lynn obtained multiple mortgages on the same properties while banks were unaware other institutions were also providing finance.
- Charges
- Michael Lynn has pleaded not guilty to 21 counts of theft.
- In court
- The trial is being heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury.
- On November 7th, 2023, former Ulster Bank relationship manager Stephen McCarthy testified that the potential from Lynn's overseas developments was not the reason for the loan.
- On November 8th, 2023, former Bank of Ireland senior business manager Jim Madden refused to accept a suggestion from defence counsel that the bank was negligent in its lending.
- Other details
- The financial institutions involved are Bank of Ireland, National Irish Bank, Irish Life and Permanent, Ulster Bank, ACC Bank, Bank of Scotland Ireland and Irish Nationwide Building Society.
- The €3.65 million loan related to the purchase of 11 residential investment properties in Dublin.
- A Bank of Ireland witness said the loan would not have gone ahead had the bank known Ulster Bank had provided finance on some of the same properties.
- According to a witness, Irish Nationwide Building Society's total lending to Michael Lynn was around €7.4 million.
18 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMichael Lynn is on trial accused of theft of around €27 million from seven financial institutions. (irishtimes.com)
- whatA former Bank of Ireland manager refused to accept a suggestion that the bank was negligent in its lending. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe theft counts relate to offences in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe alleged thefts were between October 2006 and April 2007. (irishtimes.com)
- whenMichael Lynn was given a €3.65 million loan in 2007. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe theft counts cover the period between October 23rd, 2006 and April 20th, 2007. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe prosecution case is that Michael Lynn obtained multiple mortgages on the same properties. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMichael Lynn has pleaded not guilty to 21 counts of theft. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMichael Lynn, 55, is on trial accused of theft of around €27 million from seven financial institutions. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMichael Lynn pleaded not guilty to 21 counts of theft. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial is being heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMcCarthy testified that the potential opportunity from Lynn's developments was not the reason for the loan. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial continues before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial continues before Judge Nolan and the jury. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe financial institutions involved include Bank of Ireland, National Irish Bank, Irish Life and Permanent, Ulster Bank, ACC Bank, Bank of Scotland Ireland and Irish Nationwide Building Society. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe €3.65 million loan related to the purchase of 11 residential investment properties in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Bank of Ireland witness said the loan would not have gone ahead if the bank had known Ulster Bank had provided finance on some of the same properties. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Irish Nationwide Building Society total lending to Michael Lynn was around €7.4 million, according to a witness. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 8 Nov2023Michael Lynn trial: Former BofI manager refuses to accept institution ‘negligent’ in its lending
Trial report covering evidence from former Bank of Ireland manager Jim Madden, Ulster Bank legal division witness John Morgan and Irish Nationwide Building Society internal auditor Killian McMahon. Gives the accused's age and address, the 21 theft counts and their date range, and the prosecution case on multiple mortgages.
accused, Michael Lynn, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Michael Lynn - 7 Nov2023Trial hears potential in foreign developments was not reason for granting Michael Lynn €3.65m loan
Reports evidence from the bank's former relationship manager Stephen McCarthy on the €3.65m loan application, and that the trial continues before Judge Martin Nolan and a jury.
accused, Michael Lynn, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Michael Lynn