Case No. 19163Making false or misleading declarations of interest · Co. Cork

Former ABP deputy chair fined on appeal over false declarations, Cork

Paul Hyde, a 50-year-old man from Baltimore, Co Cork, pleaded guilty in June 2023 to two counts of making false or misleading declarations of interest as a member of An Bord Pleanála, with seven further counts for 2014 to 2022 withdrawn. The offences related to his failure to declare a ransom strip in Cork City in 2015 and properties at Pope's Hill in 2018. He was sentenced to two concurrent two-month prison terms at Skibbereen District Court. On appeal at Cork Circuit Court in November 2023, Judge Colin Daly replaced the jail terms with a €6,000 fine and two suspended three-month sentences.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court28 Mar
    3 reports
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced15 Nov
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Hyde pleaded guilty to two counts of making false or misleading declarations of interest under Section 147 of the Planning and Development Act 2000, and the State withdrew the remaining seven counts.
Where
The offences related to properties in Cork City and at Pope's Hill, and the case was heard at Skibbereen District Court and on appeal at Cork Circuit Court.
When
The nine summonses related to separate offences for the years 2014 to 2022, and the guilty plea was entered on 27 June 2023.
Cause
The 2015 offence involved a failure to declare a ransom strip in Cork City, and the 2018 offence involved a failure to declare properties at Pope's Hill that had gone into receivership in 2017.
Investigation
Det Sgt Shane Curtis of the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigated after stories appeared in Village magazine and on The Ditch website.
Charges
Hyde was charged with nine counts of making false or misleading declarations of interest to the planning authority between 2014 and 2022.
In court
Judge James McNulty presided at Skibbereen District Court, and Judge Colin Daly heard the appeal at Cork Circuit Court.
Sentence
Hyde was sentenced to two concurrent two-month prison terms, and on appeal Judge Daly imposed a €6,000 fine and two suspended three-month sentences.
Other details
  • Hyde, a 50-year-old man from Castlefields, Baltimore, Co Cork (reports differ on age 51), was appointed a member of An Bord Pleanála in 2014, became deputy chairman in January 2019, and resigned in July 2022.
  • The defence said Hyde had no previous convictions and that the 2018 omission occurred in good faith due to a misinterpretation.
53 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatHyde pleaded guilty to two counts of failing to declare his interests in properties. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHyde was given a two-month prison sentence earlier in the year for making false or misleading declarations. (thejournal.ie)
  • wherePaul Hyde's address is Castlefields, Baltimore, Co Cork. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe plea was entered at Skibbereen District Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe nine summonses related to separate offences for the years 2014 to 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe guilty plea was reported on 27 June 2023. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe verdict is due at Bandon District Court on Friday at 10.30am. (thejournal.ie)
  • causeThe 2015 and 2018 declarations were said to be incomplete because a plot of land at Pope’s Hill was not included. (irishtimes.com)
  • causeThe defence said the 2018 omission occurred because the properties had gone into receivership in 2017. (irishtimes.com)
  • causeOne offence related to a 2015 failure to declare a ransom strip in Cork City. (thejournal.ie)
  • causeThe other offence related to a 2018 failure to declare properties he still owned. (thejournal.ie)
  • causeHyde failed to include properties in his 2018 declaration that he had listed in 2014. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationDet Sgt Shane Curtis of the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau was appointed to investigate Hyde's declaration of interest. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationHyde had cooperated with the Garda investigation. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationDet Garda Shane Curtis of the Garda Economic Crime Bureau gave evidence. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationDetective Sergeant Shane Curtis investigated the matter after stories appeared in the Village magazine and on The Ditch website. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeThe nine summons relate to alleged breaches of Section 147 of the Planning and Development Act. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe first count alleges that on or about 29 April 2014 he gave particulars which were false or misleading in a material respect. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe other charges relate to similar alleged offences on dates in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeHyde had been summonsed on nine breaches of Section 147 of the Planning Development Act 2000. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeHyde pleaded guilty to offences in 2015 and 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeHyde pleaded guilty to two breaches of Section 147 of the Planning and Development Act. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeHyde was charged with nine counts of making false or misleading declarations of interest to the planning authority between 2014 and 2022. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeHyde pleaded guilty to two offences contrary to Section 147 of the Planning and Development Act. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeThe State withdrew the remaining seven counts. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtPaul Hyde appeared before Skibbereen District Court on nine summonses. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge James McNulty presided over the hearing. (irishtimes.com, thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe prosecuting garda is Sgt Shane Curtis of Sundrive Road Garda station in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtClodagh Grace for the State Solicitors Office said it was the first day the case had appeared in the list. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtPaula McCarthy, for Mr Hyde and instructed by Colette McCarthy of Wolfe and Co Solicitors, said disclosure had not been received. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge McNulty directed disclosure be made and adjourned the matter to 27 June at 2pm in Skibbereen. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtHyde was due to appear at Skibbereen District Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge McNulty said he would give his decision on Friday at Bandon District Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe defence said Hyde did not make the declarations due to a misinterpretation made in good faith. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe prosecution accepted the two guilty pleas, and another seven summonses would be withdrawn. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe judge said a probation-style outcome without conviction would be optimistic. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe judge said the matter was very serious. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtJudge James McNulty earlier sentenced Hyde in West Cork to two months in jail on each count he pleaded guilty to, with the sentences to run concurrently. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceThe offence carried a maximum penalty of six months in jail or a fine of €5,000. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe maximum penalties on conviction were six months in prison and/or a fine up to €5,000. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceHyde is to learn whether a conviction will be recorded on Friday. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceOn appeal at Cork Circuit Court, Judge Colin Daly imposed a fine of €6,000. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceJudge Daly imposed two three-month prison sentences and suspended them in their entirety. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherHyde stood back from his duties with the planning authority in May 2022 and resigned in July 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherHyde has denied any wrongdoing on a number of occasions. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherHyde is a 50-year-old man from Castlefields, Baltimore, Co Cork. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherHyde was appointed a member of An Bord Pleanála in 2014. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe defence said Hyde had no previous convictions of any kind. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe judge said the Probation Act benefit and avoiding a conviction would be very optimistic. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherHyde has been unemployed since stepping down as deputy chair of ABP last July. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherJudge Daly found Hyde's culpability was at the higher end of the range. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherJudge Daly said Hyde did not gain materially from the breaches. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherHyde was appointed deputy chairman of An Bord Pleanála in 2019. (thejournal.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 15 Nov2023
    Former deputy chair of An Bord Pleanála Paul Hyde avoids jail on appeal

    Reports the Cork Circuit Court appeal outcome: a €6,000 fine and two suspended three-month sentences, replacing the earlier two-month jail term; also gives the charge, plea, withdrawn counts, investigation and mitigation.

    convicted, Paul Hyde, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Hyde
  2. 27 Jun2023
    Former Deputy Chair of ABP Paul Hyde pleads guilty to two breaches of planning laws

    Reports the guilty plea hearing at Skibbereen District Court on 27 June 2023, including the offences pleaded to, the defence and prosecution submissions, and that the verdict on conviction was due at Bandon District Court the following Friday.

    accused, Paul Hyde, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Hyde
  3. 27 Jun2023
    Former senior Bord Pleanála official pleads guilty over failure to declare property interests

    Reports the guilty plea at Skibbereen District Court, the prosecution and defence submissions, and the judge's indication that he would decide on sentence (including whether to record a conviction) at Bandon District Court on Friday.

    accused, Paul Hyde, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Hyde
  4. 28 Mar2023
    Paul Hyde appears in court on nine counts of failing to comply with planning laws

    Reports on the first court listing at Skibbereen District Court where the nine summonses were formally listed before Judge James McNulty and the matter was adjourned to 27 June 2023 for a plea or trial date.

    accused, Paul Hyde, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Hyde