Father and son claim €130,000 fraud over Citibank investment in High Court
Paul McCarthy, from Graigcullen, Carlow Town, and his father Callaghan McCarthy claim €130,000 they transferred between 10 and 27 March 2023 to a company account was misappropriated in a fraud, having been told the money was being invested by someone employed by Citibank. The money was transferred to an account held by the company Pridolian, through which Philip Andrews, of Blackrock, Co Louth, was the beneficiary, and only €393 was recovered. In July 2026, Judge Siobhan Stack in the High Court granted a freezing order on the assets of Andrews and Pridolian below €130,000, with the case set to return the following week.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court3 Jul
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Paul McCarthy and his father Callaghan McCarthy transferred €130,000 to a bank account held by the company Pridolian between 10 and 27 March 2023, having been told the money was being invested by someone employed by Citibank.
- Philip Andrews, of Blackrock, Co Louth, was the beneficiary of Pridolian, and only €393 was recovered after the fraud was discovered.
- Where
- Paul McCarthy is from Graigcullen, Carlow Town.
- Other details
- Andrews had other AIB accounts and transfers were made to Bank of Ireland and Revolut accounts.
- Investigation
- AIB refused to provide account holder details, citing GDPR, and full details were not furnished until May 2026.
- In court
- In June 2025, the McCarthys obtained a court order for AIB to furnish the information.
- In July 2026, Judge Siobhan Stack granted a freezing order on the assets of Andrews and Pridolian below €130,000.
- The freezing order stays in place until the case returns the following week.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe McCarthys transferred €130,000 to a bank account held by a company in March 2023 (irishtimes.com)
- whatAndrews was the beneficiary of the company Pridolian (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe McCarthys were told the money was being invested by someone employed by Citibank (irishtimes.com)
- whatOnly €393 was recovered after the fraud was discovered (irishtimes.com)
- whatAndrews had other AIB accounts and transfers were made to Bank of Ireland and Revolut accounts (irishtimes.com)
- wherePaul McCarthy is from Graigcullen, Carlow Town (irishtimes.com)
- wherePhilip Andrews is of Clermont Manor, Blackrock, Co Louth (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe transfers to the AIB account were made between 10 and 27 March 2023 (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe full details from AIB were not furnished until May 2026 (irishtimes.com)
- investigationAIB refused to provide account holder details, citing GDPR (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Siobhan Stack granted an order freezing the assets of Andrews and Pridolian below €130,000 (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe McCarthys obtained a court order in June 2025 for AIB to furnish the information (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe freezing order stays in place until the case returns the following week (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 3 Jul2026Father and son claim fraud over €130,000 investment, High Court hears
First report of the High Court fraud proceedings; Judge Stack granted a freezing order on Andrews' and Pridolian's assets and short service on the other banks.
victim, Paul McCarthy, male, irish (judged from name)Paul McCarthyvictim, Callaghan McCarthy, male, irish (judged from name)Callaghan McCarthyaccused, Philip Andrews, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Andrews