Ex-garda and friend sentenced for PULSE data disclosure in Ennis
Former garda Shane Flanagan, a man aged 41, supplied PULSE identification data on 14 female motorists in Co Clare to his friend Colm Meere, a man aged 45, between January and September 2020 so Meere could view the women's Facebook profile photos. The offences came to light during a separate Garda investigation into Flanagan inciting others to rape a colleague. Flanagan pleaded guilty to six of 14 PULSE disclosure counts at Ennis Circuit Court in October 2025 and March 2026, while Meere pleaded guilty to inciting the disclosure and a separate drug trafficking offence in April 2026. On 16 September 2026, Judge Francis Comerford sentenced Flanagan to nine months consecutive to his seven-year term and Meere to a 14-month suspended term for the PULSE offence and a separate 18-month suspended term for drug trafficking.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court4 Mar
3 reports - Convicted23 Oct
3 reports - Sentenced1 Sep
4 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Flanagan supplied PULSE identification data on 14 female motorists in Co Clare to his friend Meere so Meere could view the women's Facebook profile photos.
- Meere made requests over a nine-month period to get names of registered owners of cars driven by females based on their registration plates.
- Where
- The offences occurred in Co Clare and were heard at Ennis Circuit Court.
- When
- The PULSE data disclosures were made between 12 January 2020 and 24 September 2020.
- Cause
- The friend wanted to view the women's profile photos on Facebook.
- Investigation
- The offences came to light during a separate Garda investigation into Flanagan inciting others to rape a colleague.
- Gardaí found 2,212 screenshots of PULSE records on Flanagan's mobile phone.
- Charges
- Flanagan pleaded guilty to six of 14 counts of unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data under the Data Protection Act.
- Meere pleaded guilty to inciting Flanagan to obtain and disclose PULSE data and to a drug trafficking offence involving items found at Henry Street Garda Station, Limerick, on 14 April 2022.
- In court
- The case was heard at Ennis Circuit Court before Judge Francis Comerford.
- Sentence
- Flanagan was sentenced to nine months to run consecutively to his seven-year term received in July 2025.
- Meere was given a 14-month suspended prison term for the PULSE offence and a separate 18-month suspended term for the drug trafficking offence.
- Other details
- Flanagan resigned from the Gardaí in March 2025 and is serving a seven-year term for inciting strangers to rape a female colleague.
- There was no evidence of Meere making contact with the women online, making Facebook friend requests, or seeking them out.
95 statements extracted from the articles
- whatFlanagan pleaded guilty to two of 14 counts at Ennis Circuit Court. (rte.ie)
- whatFlanagan pleaded guilty to two of the 14 counts against him. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe guilty pleas concern unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data relating to two people. (thejournal.ie)
- whatShane Flanagan pleaded guilty to four additional counts of unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data on four individuals in 2020. (clareecho.ie)
- whatFlanagan supplied confidential PULSE identification data on 14 female motorists in Co Clare to a friend. (thejournal.ie)
- whatFlanagan supplied PULSE identification data on 14 female motorists in Co Clare to a friend. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whatMeere made requests over a nine-month period to get the names of registered owners of cars driven by females he had seen at different locations, based on their registration plates. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMeere had in his possession a tick list, bag sealer, tin foil, scissors, baggies and a mobile phone. (irishtimes.com)
- whatFlanagan appeared in court via video-link from Midlands Prison. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMeere made requests over a nine-month period to get names of registered owners of cars driven by females from registration plates. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThere was no evidence of Meere making contact with the women online, making Facebook friend requests or seeking them out. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatMeere pleaded guilty to a drug trafficking offence involving items found at Henry Street Garda Station, Limerick, on April 14, 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe hearing is at Ennis Circuit Court. (rte.ie)
- whereThe plea was entered at Ennis Circuit Court. (clareecho.ie)
- whereThe sentencing hearing took place at Ennis Circuit Court. (rte.ie)
- whereThe drug trafficking items were found at Henry Street Garda station, Limerick. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe disclosures were made between 12 January 2020 and 24 September 2020. (rte.ie)
- whenThe disclosures were made on dates between 12 January 2020 and 24 September 2020. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe disclosures happened on dates between January 12 and September 24, 2020. (clareecho.ie)
- whenThe offences occurred on dates between February 13 and June 16, 2020. (clareecho.ie)
- whenThe unauthorised disclosures took place between January and September 2020. (thejournal.ie, rte.ie)
- whenThe Pulse data was disclosed between January and September 2020. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe drug trafficking offence occurred on 14 April 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe unauthorised PULSE data disclosure occurred between January and September 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
- causeThe defence asked for sentencing to be adjourned because a psychiatric report on Flanagan is not ready. (rte.ie)
- causeThe friend wanted to view the women's profile photos on Facebook. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe offences came to light during a separate garda investigation into Flanagan. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationGardaí found 2,212 screenshots of PULSE records on Flanagan's mobile phone. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationThe offences came to light during a separate garda investigation into Flanagan inciting others to rape a colleague. (rte.ie)
- investigationFlanagan had 2,212 screenshots of PULSE records on his mobile phone. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe unauthorised Pulse data offences came to light as part of a separate Garda investigation into Flanagan inciting others to rape a colleague. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe PULSE data offences came to light as part of the Garda investigation into Flanagan inciting others to rape a colleague. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeFlanagan admitted unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data on two people. (rte.ie)
- chargeThe guilty pleas relate to offences under the Data Protection Act. (rte.ie)
- chargeFlanagan has pleaded guilty to offences brought under the Data Protection Act. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe guilty pleas concerned unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data on two people known by initials. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeThe pleaded offences were brought under the Data Protection Act. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeFlanagan is charged with alleged unauthorised disclosure of Garda PULSE personal data on two individuals. (rte.ie)
- chargeFlanagan first pleaded guilty to two of the 14 PULSE counts, for offences between 12 January 2020 and 24 September 2020. (rte.ie)
- chargeThe State said more pleas were expected on counts 2 to 13. (rte.ie)
- chargeFlanagan had already pleaded guilty to two counts from a total of 14 counts. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeMeere pleaded guilty to inciting Flanagan to obtain and disclose PULSE data about an individual with the initials L.L. on 12 January 2020. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeMeere pleaded guilty to a drug trafficking offence relating to items found at Henry Street Garda Station, Limerick, on 14 April 2022. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeFlanagan had previously pleaded guilty to six PULSE offences from 14 counts. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeMeere pleaded guilty to inciting Flanagan to give out unauthorised PULSE data. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeBoth pleaded guilty to sample counts concerning the unauthorised disclosure of Pulse data on 14 female motorists. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe pleas were entered without prejudice to show Flanagan's intent to take responsibility. (rte.ie)
- courtThe trial listed for this week will not proceed because of the guilty pleas. (rte.ie)
- courtFlanagan was remanded in custody to return on 14 November to fix a sentencing date. (rte.ie)
- courtThe pleas were entered on a without prejudice basis to show Flanagan's intent to take responsibility. (thejournal.ie, clareecho.ie)
- courtThe case was listed for trial that week, and the trial will not proceed following the guilty pleas. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Comerford extended Flanagan's legal aid certificate to cover a psychiatric report. (thejournal.ie)
- courtFlanagan was remanded in custody to return to Ennis Circuit Court on 14 November to fix a sentencing date. (thejournal.ie)
- courtShane Flanagan pleaded guilty to two of the 14 counts at Ennis Circuit Court. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe trial listed for that week will not proceed because of the guilty pleas. (clareecho.ie)
- courtFlanagan was remanded in custody to return to Ennis Circuit Court on November 14 to fix a sentencing date. (clareecho.ie)
- courtFlanagan appeared by video-link from prison. (rte.ie)
- courtJudge Francis Comerford deferred sentencing to a later date. (rte.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned to the next day for Flanagan to be further arraigned on the remaining counts and for a sentencing date to be fixed. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge directed that victim impact statements be obtained from the 14 individuals named in the counts for the sentencing hearing next month. (clareecho.ie)
- courtCounsel said Meere has never been in trouble before and has no previous convictions. (clareecho.ie)
- courtJudge Francis Comerford directed that a probation report be carried out on Meere. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe sentencing took place at Ennis Circuit Court before Judge Francis Comerford. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge said there was no evidence of Meere making contact with the women online. (thejournal.ie)
- courtNone of the women elected to make a victim impact statement. (thejournal.ie, rte.ie)
- courtThe case was heard at Ennis Circuit Court before Judge Francis Comerford. (irishtimes.com)
- courtFlanagan appeared in court via video-link from the Midlands Prison. (irishtimes.com)
- courtInsp Paul English told the court about the investigation. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Francis Comerford at Ennis Circuit Court imposed a sentence of nine months on Flanagan. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Comerford imposed a 14-month suspended prison term on Colm Meere, 45, of Knockanean, Tulla Rd, Ennis. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceSentencing is set for April 29. (clareecho.ie)
- sentenceFlanagan was due to be sentenced the following week, and a joint sentencing hearing was considered. (clareecho.ie)
- sentenceFlanagan was sentenced to nine months. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe nine-month term will run consecutive to a seven-year term Flanagan received in July 2025. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceMeere was given a 14-month suspended prison term. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceFlanagan was sentenced to nine months, to run consecutively to his seven-year term. (rte.ie)
- sentenceMeere received a 14-month suspended prison term for inciting Flanagan to give out the unauthorised PULSE data. (rte.ie)
- sentenceFlanagan was sentenced to nine months to run consecutively to the seven-year term he received in July 2025. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMeere was given a 14-month suspended prison term for inciting Flanagan to give out the unauthorised Pulse data. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMeere received a separate suspended 18-month prison term for a drug trafficking offence. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe nine-month sentence runs consecutive to the seven-year term Flanagan received in July 2025 for inciting strangers to rape a female colleague. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJudge Comerford imposed a separate suspended 18-month prison term on Meere for the drug trafficking offence. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherFlanagan resigned from the Garda in March. (rte.ie)
- otherThe victims are not named on the charges, where their names are initialled. (clareecho.ie)
- otherFlanagan resigned from the Gardaí in March of last year and is serving a seven year jail term for inciting strangers to rape a colleague. (clareecho.ie)
- otherFlanagan appeared in court by video link from prison. (clareecho.ie)
- otherThe victims were not aware that their data had been breached. (clareecho.ie)
- otherFlanagan appeared in court by video-link from the Midlands Prison. (thejournal.ie, rte.ie)
- otherNone of the 14 women wished to make a victim impact statement. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThere was no evidence Meere made contact with the women online, made Facebook friend requests, or sought them out. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMeere is a married father of two. (irishtimes.com)
- otherFlanagan responded that the woman had some arse on her and that she is a teacher now. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMeere texted back that she can teach him anything she wants to teach him. (irishtimes.com)
- otherAll 14 women were contacted to see if they wished to make a victim impact statement but none elected to do so. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherAt garda interview, Meere said 'I have a wife and kids and obviously I should not have been doing what I was doing' and called it 'stupid, male, egotistical behaviour'. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 17 Sep2026Ex-garda sent female motorist info to friend who checked her out on Facebook
Sentencing at Ennis Circuit Court. Flanagan received nine months consecutive to his July 2025 seven-year term for inciting strangers to rape a female colleague. Meere received a 14-month suspended term for inciting the PULSE data disclosure and a separate 18-month suspended term for a drug trafficking offence. The PULSE data offences came to light during the Garda investigation into Flanagan's sexual offences.
convicted, Shane Flanagan, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanaganconvicted, Colm Meere, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Meerevictim, female - 16 Sep2026‘Her profile picture isn’t too shabby’: Ex-garda supplied Pulse data on female motorists to friend
Sentencing details at Ennis Circuit Court including consecutive and suspended terms, the background of the investigation linked to Flanagan's earlier rape-incitement case, and Meere's separate drug trafficking conviction.
convicted, Shane Flanagan, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanaganconvicted, Colm Meere, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Meere - 16 Sep2026Ex-garda sentenced for sending friend PULSE data of women
Sentencing of Flanagan and Meere for the unauthorised PULSE data disclosures, which came to light during the separate investigation into Flanagan inciting others to rape a colleague. Flanagan's nine-month term runs consecutively to the seven-year term he received in July 2025. Meere also received a separate suspended 18-month term for a drug trafficking offence, which is not part of this case.
convicted, Shane Flanagan, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanaganconvicted, Colm Meere, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Meerevictim, female - 1 Sep2026Disgraced ex-garda gave confidential information on female motorists to his friend, court hears
Sentencing report for Shane Flanagan and Colm Meere over unauthorised PULSE data disclosures made between January and September 2020. The article also mentions Flanagan's earlier seven-year sentence and a separate 2022 drug-related offence by Meere, which are not part of this case and are not recorded as facts.
convicted, Shane Flanagan, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanaganconvicted, Colm Meere, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Meerevictim, female - 22 Apr2026Co-accused of Flanagan pleads guilty to seven offences in unauthorised breach from Garda database - Clare Echo
Covers Colm Meere's guilty pleas at Ennis Circuit Court, the adjournment for a probation report and a call over on 1 May, and Flanagan's pending sentencing. No existing case in the list matches.
accused, Colm Meere, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Meereaccused, Shane Flanagan, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanagan - 7 Mar2026Victims of ex Ennis Garda's unauthorised data disclosures asked to provide statements - Clare Echo
Reports a guilty plea to four additional PULSE data counts at Ennis Circuit Court, the order for victim impact statements, and a sentencing date of April 29.
convicted, Shane Flanagan, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanagan - 4 Mar2026Ex-garda to enter pleas over disclosure of PULSE data
Reports that Flanagan first pleaded guilty to two of 14 PULSE counts, that more pleas are expected on counts 2 to 13, and that sentencing is deferred. Also notes he was jailed last July in a separate case for inciting strangers to rape a colleague, which is not part of this case.
accused, Shane Flanagan, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Shane Flanagan - 27 Oct2025Ennis man serving seven years for inciting rape of fellow Garda pleads guilty to PULSE disclosure - Clare Echo
Reports that Flanagan pleaded guilty to two of the 14 PULSE disclosure counts at Ennis Circuit Court, with the trial not proceeding and sentencing to be fixed on November 14.
- 23 Oct2025Former garda who incited strangers to rape his colleague admits to disclosing policing data
Reports the guilty pleas to counts 1 and 14 at Ennis Circuit Court on 23 October 2025, the dates of the two disclosures, the remand in custody and the adjournment to 14 November for sentencing. The trial listed for that week will not proceed.
- 23 Oct2025Ex-garda guilty of unauthorised PULSE data disclosure
Flanagan pleaded guilty on 23 October 2025 to counts 1 and 14, relating to disclosures on two people identified by initials. The plea was entered without prejudice, the listed trial will not proceed, and sentencing is to be fixed on 14 November.