Ex-employees of car dealership lose bids to halt theft and forgery trials
Two former employees of a car dealership are accused of multiple counts of theft, forgery and using a false instrument, allegedly committed between 2014 and 2017 and mainly linked to the onward sale of vehicles traded in by customers. The prosecution contends that in some cases the trade-in was not recorded in the sales contract and each accused privately sold the vehicle for their own profit. Some charges were preferred in 2020, and an indictment with multiple charges was served in late 2023. The High Court refused separate judicial review bids by the two applicants to stop their trials, which had been on hold pending that decision. In judgments reported on 29 September 2025, the judge found the trial court better placed to assess fairness, given the death of an intended prosecution witness and the complexity of the investigation.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court29 Sep
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Two former employees of a car dealership lost separate High Court bids to stop their trials on multiple counts of theft, forgery and using a false instrument.
- The alleged offences relate mainly to the onward sale of vehicles traded in by customers buying another vehicle from the dealership.
- The prosecution contends that in some cases the trade-in was not recorded in the sales contract and each accused privately sold the vehicle as profit to themselves.
- When
- The offences were allegedly committed between 2014 and 2017.
- Charges
- Some charges were preferred in 2020, and an indictment involving multiple charges was served in late 2023.
- Investigation
- The investigation involved more than 100 witness statements, and extensive disclosure was required.
- Other details
- An intended prosecution witness, the dealership's managing director, died after the criminal proceedings were initiated.
- The judge redacted the names of the accused and the car dealership from the judgments.
- In court
- The High Court refused to make judicial review orders preventing the trials, which had been on hold pending its decision, in judgments reported on 29 September 2025.
- The judge found the trial court better placed to assess fairness, given the death of a key prosecution witness and the complexity of the investigation.
8 statements extracted from the articles
- whatTwo former employees of a car dealership lost separate bids to prevent their trials on multiple counts of theft, forgery and using a false instrument (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe alleged offences relate to the onward sale of vehicles traded in by customers buying another vehicle from the dealership (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe prosecution contends the fact a customer had traded in a vehicle was not recorded and the vehicle was sold privately by each accused as profit (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe offences were allegedly committed between 2014 and 2017 (irishtimes.com)
- whenSome charges were preferred in 2020 and an indictment involving multiple charges was served in late 2023 (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe investigation involved more than 100 witness statements and extensive disclosure was required (irishtimes.com)
- otherAn intended prosecution witness, the managing director of the dealership, died after the criminal proceedings were initiated (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe judge redacted the names of the accused and the car dealership from the judgments (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 29 Sep2025Ex-employees of car dealership fail to stop trials over alleged theft and forgery
Reports the High Court's refusal to grant judicial review orders preventing the criminal trials, finding the trial court better placed to assess fairness given the death of a key prosecution witness and the complexity of the investigation involving more than 100 witness statements.
suspectsuspect