Ennis man pleads guilty to three money laundering offences
Geoffrey Kumah, a 28-year-old Ennis man, pleaded guilty at Ennis Circuit Court, County Clare, to three money laundering offences over money that passed through his accounts at AIB, An Post and Ulster Bank on three separate dates between February 4th and May 17th 2021. He admitted knowing the money was proceeds of crime, and the State said the pleas are acceptable to the DPP on a full facts basis, with two further counts to be taken into consideration. He is already serving a seven-year sentence in Mountjoy prison from a separate case. Judge Francis Comerford remanded him to Ennis Circuit Court on March 25th to fix a sentencing date.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Convicted7 Feb
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Geoffrey Kumah, a 28-year-old Ennis man, pleaded guilty to three money laundering offences.
- Where
- The court hearing took place at Ennis Circuit Court in County Clare.
- When
- The money passed through the accounts on three separate dates between February 4th and May 17th 2021.
- Charges
- Kumah pleaded guilty to three offences of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct under the Criminal Justice Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act 2010.
- He admitted knowing that money credited to and withdrawn from accounts in his name at AIB, An Post and Ulster Bank was proceeds of crime.
- The amounts of money in each money laundering count were not disclosed in the charges read out in court.
- In court
- The State said the guilty pleas to the three counts are acceptable to the DPP on a full facts basis.
- Two further counts will be taken into consideration.
- Judge Francis Comerford remanded Kumah to Ennis Circuit Court on March 25th to fix a sentencing date.
- Sentence
- A sentencing hearing date is to be set next month.
- Other details
- Kumah is a native of Ghana.
- He is serving a seven-year sentence in Mountjoy prison from a separate case, which the article says was a rape conviction from last July.
11 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe court hearing took place at Ennis Circuit Court. (clareecho.ie)
- whenThe money passed through the accounts on three separate dates between February 4th and May 17th 2021. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeKumah pleaded guilty to three offences of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct under the Criminal Justice Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act 2010. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeHe admitted knowing that money credited to and withdrawn from accounts in his name at AIB, An Post and Ulster Bank was proceeds of crime. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeThe amounts of money in each money laundering count were not disclosed in the charges read out in court. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe State said the guilty pleas to the three counts are acceptable to the DPP on a full facts basis. (clareecho.ie)
- courtTwo further counts will be taken into consideration. (clareecho.ie)
- courtJudge Francis Comerford remanded Kumah to Ennis Circuit Court on March 25th to fix a sentencing date. (clareecho.ie)
- sentenceA sentencing hearing date is to be set next month. (clareecho.ie)
- otherKumah is a native of Ghana. (clareecho.ie)
- otherHe is serving a seven-year sentence in Mountjoy prison from a separate case. (clareecho.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 7 Feb2025Ghana native jailed for rape of teenager pleads guilty to three money laundering offences - Clare Echo
Guilty pleas to three money laundering counts at Ennis Circuit Court; sentencing to be fixed on a later date. The article also refers to a separate rape conviction, which is not part of this case.
convicted, Geoffrey Kumah, 28, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Geoffrey Kumah