Dublin tanning salon fined for selling sunbed treatment to 16-year-old
Stop N Glow Limited, a tanning salon on Bridgefoot Street in the Liberties, Dublin, sold a sunbed treatment to a 16-year-old girl without checking her ID, during a test purchase by the Health Service Executive (HSE). The sale took place on 29 October, but the sources do not give the year. The HSE prosecuted the firm under the Public Health (Sunbeds) Act 2014, and on 30 March 2026 the firm, which is run by Aoife McGregor, pleaded guilty at Dublin District Court. It was ordered to pay €1,000 in costs and donate a further €500 to a Dublin charity, and the case was adjourned until 27 April.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced1 Mar
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Stop N Glow Limited sold a sunbed treatment to a 16-year-old girl without asking for ID during a test purchase by the HSE.
- Where
- The salon is on Bridgefoot Street in the Liberties, Dublin.
- When
- The sale took place on 29 October; the sources do not give the year.
- The court report is dated 30 March 2026, while the article's metadata gives 1 March 2026.
- Investigation
- The Health Service Executive brought the prosecution.
- Charges
- The firm was charged under sections 4(1)(a), 4(1)(b) and 4(2) of the Public Health (Sunbeds) Act 2014.
- In court
- The firm pleaded guilty at Dublin District Court to providing the treatment to a minor.
- The employee responsible for the sale has been dismissed.
- The case was adjourned until 27 April.
- Sentence
- The firm was ordered to pay €1,000 in costs and donate a further €500 to a Dublin charity.
- Other details
- The firm had no prior convictions.
- The salon is run by Aoife McGregor, whom the headline describes as the sister of Conor McGregor.
10 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe salon sold a sunbed treatment to a 16-year-old girl without checking her age or ID. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe salon, Stop N Glow Limited, is on Bridgefoot Street in the Liberties, Dublin. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe sale took place on 29 October. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationThe Health Service Executive brought the prosecution. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe offence is contrary to sections 4(1)(a), 4(1)(b) and 4(2) of the Public Health (Sunbeds) Act 2014. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe firm pleaded guilty to providing the treatment to a minor. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe employee responsible for the sale has been dismissed. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until 27 April. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe firm was ordered to pay €1,000 in costs and donate a further €500 to a Dublin charity. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe firm had no prior convictions. (thejournal.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 1 Mar2026Tanning salon run by sister of Conor McGregor fined for selling sunbed treatment to 16-year-old
Reports the Dublin District Court guilty plea and penalty for Stop N Glow Limited, run by Aoife McGregor. The article is dated 1 March 2026 in its metadata, but the court report is dated 30 March 2026. The incident date is given only as 29 October, with no year.