Dublin pensioner Frank Proudfoot charged with money laundering over €55,000
Frank Proudfoot, a 70-year-old man from Dublin 7, was charged with money laundering over alleged crime proceeds totalling €55,525 and £4,340 (€5,068) at Richmond Hall, Dublin 3, on 10 June 2022. He was arrested and charged at Bridewell Garda station and made no reply to the charge at his first court appearance on 6 August 2026. The DPP directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court and indicated consent for the accused to be sent forward on a signed plea. Proudfoot, who had no legal representation due to a solicitors' legal aid dispute, was granted bail on his own bond of €100 with no cash lodgement and remanded to appear again on 14 September 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court6 Aug
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Frank Proudfoot, a 70-year-old man, was charged with money laundering over alleged crime proceeds totalling €55,525 and £4,340 (€5,068).
- Where
- The alleged offence took place at Richmond Hall, Richmond Road, Dublin 3.
- Proudfoot lives at Montpelier Park, North Circular Road, Dublin 7.
- When
- The alleged offence occurred on 10 June 2022.
- Investigation
- Det Garda Pat Hearne of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence that Proudfoot was arrested and charged at Bridewell Garda station.
- In court
- At his first appearance on 6 August 2026, Proudfoot made no reply to the charge.
- The DPP directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court and indicated consent for the accused to be sent forward on a signed plea.
- Proudfoot had no legal representation due to an ongoing dispute involving solicitors over legal aid reforms.
- There was no Garda objection to bail and Proudfoot was granted bail on his own bond of €100 with no cash lodgement.
- Proudfoot was remanded to appear again before the court on 14 September 2026.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatFrank Proudfoot is a 70-year-old man (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe alleged crime proceeds total €55,525 and £4,340 (€5,068) (irishtimes.com)
- whereFrank Proudfoot lives at Montpelier Park, North Circular Road, Dublin 7 (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe alleged offence took place at Richmond Hall, Richmond Road, Dublin 3 (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe alleged offence occurred on 10 June 2022 (irishtimes.com)
- investigationDet Garda Pat Hearne from the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution (irishtimes.com)
- investigationProudfoot was arrested and charged at Bridewell Garda station (irishtimes.com)
- courtProudfoot made no reply to the charge (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP indicated consent for the accused to be sent forward on a signed plea (irishtimes.com)
- courtProudfoot had no legal representation due to an ongoing dispute involving solicitors over legal aid reforms (irishtimes.com)
- courtThere was no Garda objection to bail (irishtimes.com)
- courtProudfoot was remanded to appear again before the court on 14 September 2026 (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 6 Aug2026Dublin pensioner charged with money laundering offences involving more than €55,000
First court appearance; DPP directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court; bail granted on own bond of €100 with no cash lodgement; remanded to 14 September 2026; no legal representation present due to solicitors' legal aid dispute.
accused, Frank Proudfoot, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Proudfoot