Dublin man jailed for false imprisonment of ex-partner in Co Clare
Scott Donegan (38), a Dublin man, was charged on 22 April 2021 with threatening to kill, over an alleged threat made on 19 April 2021, and was released on bail with conditions. On 9 November 2022 he allegedly falsely imprisoned an ex-partner for about four hours at his home at Knockmore, Kilmilhil, Co Clare, and produced a large kitchen knife. He entered a late guilty plea on the morning of his trial, and on 25 September 2023 Judge Francis Comerford at Ennis Circuit Court imposed a total term given as seven years and 10 months in one report and 103 months in the Court of Appeal judgment, with the final nine months suspended. The Director of Public Prosecutions then sought a review of the sentences as unduly lenient, and the Court of Appeal delivered judgment on 5 June 2025, but the outcome is not in the text provided.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court5 Jun
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced25 Sep
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Scott Donegan, a 38-year-old Dublin man, falsely imprisoned an ex-partner during a four-hour ordeal.
- The victim, a security contractor's employee, was installing CCTV cameras at a neighbour's house when the altercation occurred.
- Where
- The false imprisonment took place at Donegan's home at Knockmore, Kilmilhil, Co Clare.
- When
- The false imprisonment took place on 9 November 2022, when the woman was not allowed to leave the house from 7pm to 11pm.
- Weapon
- It is alleged that Donegan ran at the woman with a large kitchen knife and grabbed her by the throat.
- Cause
- It is alleged that Donegan threatened to stab the victim to death at an address in a village on the west coast of Ireland on 19 April 2021.
- Other details
- It is alleged that Donegan told the woman he had a Glock handgun and a shotgun.
- Investigation
- In interview, Donegan admitted a verbal altercation but denied threatening to kill, and CCTV footage with audio was recovered from his house under a warrant.
- Det Garda Donal Corkery gave evidence about the incident in court.
- Charges
- Donegan was charged on 22 April 2021 with threatening to kill or cause serious harm and released on bail with conditions.
- A second bill charged Donegan with false imprisonment and producing an article capable of inflicting serious injury.
- In court
- Donegan entered a late guilty plea to the sole count on the morning of his scheduled trial, and the judge said he had terrorised the woman while on bail.
- The Director of Public Prosecutions applied to the Court of Appeal to review the sentences as unduly lenient, and judgment was delivered on 5 June 2025 ([2025] IECA 168), with the outcome not stated in the text provided.
- Sentence
- On 25 September 2023 at Ennis Circuit Court, Judge Francis Comerford imposed 83 months for false imprisonment and 25 months for producing an article, to run concurrently, on two separate bills.
- The total term is given as seven years and 10 months in the Irish Times report but as 103 months (8 years and 7 months) in the Court of Appeal judgment, with the final nine months suspended and backdated to last November.
30 statements extracted from the articles
- whatDonegan was jailed for seven years and 10 months. (irishtimes.com)
- whatDonegan falsely imprisoned an ex-partner during a four-hour ordeal at his home. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe woman was not allowed to leave the house from 7pm to 11pm. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe victim, a security contractor's employee, was installing CCTV cameras at the house of a neighbour when the altercation occurred. (courts.ie)
- whatIt is alleged that Donegan threatened to stab the victim to death. (courts.ie)
- whereThe offence took place at Donegan's home at Knockmore, Kilmilhil, Co Clare. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe threat was made at an address in a village on the west coast of Ireland. (courts.ie)
- whenThe false imprisonment took place on 9 November 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe threat was made on 19 April 2021. (courts.ie)
- whenThe knife was produced during the false imprisonment on 9 November 2022. (courts.ie)
- weaponDonegan ran at the woman with a knife and grabbed her by the throat. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe item produced was described as a large kitchen knife. (courts.ie)
- investigationDet Garda Donal Corkery gave evidence about the incident in court. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationCCTV footage with audio was recovered from Donegan's house under a warrant. (courts.ie)
- investigationIn interview, Donegan admitted a verbal altercation but denied threatening to kill. (courts.ie)
- chargeThe first bill contained a single count of threatening to kill or cause serious harm. (courts.ie)
- chargeDonegan was charged on 22 April 2021 and released on bail with conditions. (courts.ie)
- chargeThe second bill concerned false imprisonment and producing an article capable of inflicting serious injury. (courts.ie)
- courtThe sentencing took place at Ennis Circuit Court before Judge Francis Comerford. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge said Donegan had terrorised the Co Clare woman while on bail. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions applied to the Court of Appeal to review Donegan's sentences as unduly lenient. (courts.ie)
- courtDonegan was sentenced by the Circuit Criminal Court in Ennis on two separate bills. (courts.ie)
- courtDonegan entered a late guilty plea to the sole count on the morning of his scheduled trial. (courts.ie)
- sentenceDonegan received an eight year and seven month prison term, with the final nine months suspended. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceDonegan received a six-year, 11 month prison term for the false imprisonment. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe terms were ordered to run consecutively, with a total of seven years and 10 months, backdated to last November. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe total sentence was 103 months, with the final 9 months conditionally suspended. (courts.ie)
- sentenceDonegan was sentenced to 83 months on the false imprisonment count and 25 months on the production count, to run concurrently. (courts.ie)
- otherDonegan told the woman he had a Glock handgun and a shotgun. (irishtimes.com)
- otherIn her victim impact statement the woman said Donegan had scarred and damaged her for life. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 5 Jun2025[2025] IECA 168 Court of Appeal: The Director of Public Prosecutions -v- Scott Donegan
Court of Appeal judgment on the Director of Public Prosecutions' unduly lenient sentence review of Donegan's 25 September 2023 sentences. The text provided is truncated before the full facts of the second case are set out.
convicted, Scott Donegan, male, named, irish (judged from name)Scott Doneganvictim, William Martin, male, irish (judged from name)William Martinvictim, female - 25 Sep2023Dublin man who changed name jailed for ‘terrorising’ fourth female victim
Sentencing report for Scott Donegan at Ennis Circuit Court. The article gives the sentence structure and details of the November incident, including a knife, a claimed firearm and blackmail. It also covers earlier convictions and a separate threat-to-kill offence, which are not part of this case.
convicted, Scott Donegan, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Scott Doneganvictim, female