Case No. 20109Unauthorised investment business, money laundering and deception · Co. Dublin

Dublin man charged with unlawfully acting as investment firm and money laundering

Raymond Smyth from Dublin is alleged to have acted as an investment business without authorisation between 20 March 2018 and 10 June 2021, and to have handled crime proceeds, including €52,000 at AIB Tallaght, Dublin 24, on 14 August and 20 September 2019. He is alleged to have induced four men and a woman, who are injured parties in several counties, to make multiple payments that caused them loss. Gardaí arrested him at his home on Wednesday, and on 3 August 2023 he was charged with nine offences at Dublin District Court before Judge Cephas Power, where he replied that he did not do any of that. The DPP directed trial on indictment in the Circuit Court, and he was granted bail with conditions, including weekly signing at Rathmines Garda station and surrender of his passport within 72 hours. The latest development is that he was ordered to appear again at the District Court in September so prosecutors can complete a book of evidence.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Charged3 Aug
  4. In court
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Raymond Smyth is alleged to have acted as an investment business firm without authorisation, as required by the Investment Intermediaries Act 1995.
  • He is alleged to have induced four named men and a woman to make multiple payments, resulting in a loss to the alleged injured parties.
Where
Money of €52,000 is alleged to have been handled at AIB Tallaght, Dublin 24.
When
  • The offences are alleged to have occurred between 20 March 2018 and 10 June 2021.
  • The €52,000 is alleged to have been handled on 14 August and 20 September 2019.
Charges
  • He faces nine charges, including four counts of money laundering, one under the Investment Intermediaries Act 1995 and one of deception.
  • A further €25,500 in crime proceeds is alleged to have been converted, transferred or possessed on two dates in June and December 2019.
  • He was charged on 3 August 2023 with unlawfully acting as an investment firm, possessing crime proceeds and deceiving five people.
Investigation
Gardaí arrested him on Wednesday at his home.
In court
  • He appeared before Judge Cephas Power at Dublin District Court on 3 August 2023, where the DPP directed trial on indictment in the Circuit Court.
  • There was no objection to bail, but the court imposed conditions, including weekly signing at Rathmines Garda station and surrender of his passport within 72 hours.
  • He was ordered to appear again at the District Court in September so prosecutors can complete a book of evidence.
Other details
  • The judge heard there were several injured parties in various counties.
  • He replied to the charges, saying he did not do any of that.
15 statements extracted from the articles
  • whereMoney of €52,000 is alleged to have been handled at AIB Tallaght, Dublin 24, on 14 August and 20 September 2019. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe offences are alleged to have occurred between March 2018 and June 2021. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationGardaí arrested him on Wednesday at his home. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeRaymond Smyth was charged with unlawfully acting as an investment firm, possessing crime proceeds and deceiving five people. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeHe faces nine charges, including four counts of money laundering, one under the Investment Intermediaries Act 1995 and one of deception. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeIt is alleged he acted as an investment business firm without authorisation between 20 March 2018 and 10 June 2021. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeHe is alleged to have induced four named men and a woman to make multiple payments, resulting in a loss to the alleged injured parties. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeA further €25,500 in crime proceeds is alleged to have been converted, transferred or possessed on two other dates in June and December 2019. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtHe appeared before Judge Cephas Power at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment in the Circuit Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThere was no objection to bail, but the court imposed conditions. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtHe must sign on at Rathmines Garda station once a week and surrender his passport within 72 hours. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtHe was ordered to appear again at the District Court in September so prosecutors can complete a book of evidence. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherThe judge heard there were several injured parties in various counties. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherHe replied to the charges, saying he did not do any of that. (thejournal.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 3 Aug2023
    Dublin man charged with unlawfully acting as investment firm and possessing crime proceeds

    Reports the charging and bail hearing of Raymond Smyth at Dublin District Court on 3 August 2023, with the allegations, alleged dates and bail conditions.

    accused, Raymond Smyth, 58, male, named, irish (judged from name)Raymond Smyth