Dublin man charged with laundering over €55,000 in crime proceeds
A 70-year-old Dublin man, Frank Proudfoot, has been charged with money laundering involving more than €55,000 in alleged crime proceeds. The key facts give the charge date as 10 June 2022, while the articles report the charge and first District Court appearance in 2026, with bail granted on 6 August 2026. Detective Garda Pat Hearne of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of the arrest, charge and caution, and the Director of Public Prosecutions directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court. Proudfoot was granted bail on his own €100 bond with no cash lodgement and was remanded to appear again on 14 September.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged1 Aug
- In court
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Frank Proudfoot, a 70-year-old Dublin man, has been charged with money laundering offences involving more than €55,000.
- Where
- Sources give two locations: the charge is placed at Richmond Hall, Richmond Road, Dublin 3, and the court facts say he was arrested and charged at Bridewell garda station.
- When
- The key facts give the charge date as 10 June 2022, while the articles report the charge and first District Court appearance in 2026, with that appearance on 6 August 2026.
- Charges
- The alleged crime proceeds totalled €55,525 and £4,340 (€5,000).
- Investigation
- Detective Garda Pat Hearne of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of the arrest, charge and caution.
- In court
- Proudfoot made no reply to the charge and had no legal representation present due to an ongoing dispute involving solicitors over legal aid reforms.
- The Director of Public Prosecutions directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court and indicated consent for the accused to be sent forward on a signed plea should one arise.
- The judge ordered full disclosure of prosecution evidence, and there was no garda objection to bail.
- Proudfoot was remanded to appear again before the court on 14 September.
- Sentence
- Bail was granted on Proudfoot's own bond of €100 with no cash lodgement required.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatFrank Proudfoot has been charged with money laundering offences involving more than €55,000. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe charge took place at Richmond Hall, Richmond Road, Dublin 3. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe charge took place on 10 June 2022. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Pat Hearne of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe alleged crime proceeds totalled €55,525 and £4,340 (€5,000). (thejournal.ie)
- courtProudfoot was arrested and charged at the Bridewell garda station and made no reply to the charge. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions has directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe DPP indicated consent for the accused to be sent forward on a signed plea should one arise. (thejournal.ie)
- courtProudfoot had no legal representation present due to an ongoing dispute involving solicitors over legal aid reforms. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThere was no garda objection to bail. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge ordered full disclosure of prosecution evidence. (thejournal.ie)
- courtProudfoot was remanded to appear again before the court on 14 September. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceBail was granted on Proudfoot’s own bond of €100 with no cash lodgement required. (thejournal.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 1 Aug2026Dublin man (70) charged with laundering more than €55k in crime proceeds
First report of the charge and the first District Court appearance on 6 August 2026, where Proudfoot was granted bail and the DPP directed trial on indictment at the Circuit Court.
accused, Frank Proudfoot, 70, male, named, irish (judged from name)Frank Proudfoot