Dublin man charged with attempted murder of Daniel Harty in Sixmilebridge, Clare
On 18 January 2020, Daniel Harty, a Clare man, was shot three times, in the abdomen, back and arm, at Pound Street in Sixmilebridge, Co Clare, when a firearm was discharged. Kieran Hogg (33) of Dublin is charged with attempting to murder Harty and with intentionally or recklessly discharging a firearm with intent to murder him. Hogg appeared at Ennis District Court on a Friday, reported as 6 February 2026 by one source and as 8 February 2026 by another, where the DPP directed the case to the Central Criminal Court and he was remanded in custody. The judge said bail on an attempted murder charge must be applied for in the High Court, and Hogg is due to appear by video link from prison at Ennis District Court on 11 February.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court1 Feb
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Kieran Hogg (33) of Dublin is charged with attempting to murder Daniel Harty.
- Daniel Harty suffered three gunshot wounds, to the abdomen, back and arm.
- Where
- The incident took place at Pound Street in Sixmilebridge, Co Clare.
- When
- The alleged incident occurred on 18 January 2020.
- Hogg appeared in court on a Friday, reported as 6 February 2026 by one source and as 8 February 2026 by another.
- Weapon
- A firearm was discharged during the incident.
- Charges
- Hogg is also charged with intentionally or recklessly discharging a firearm with intent to murder Daniel Harty.
- In court
- The case was heard at Ennis District Court, and the DPP has directed that it go forward to the Central Criminal Court.
- Judge Alec Gabbett said he could not decide on bail for an attempted murder charge, and bail must be applied for in the High Court.
- Legal aid was granted to solicitor John Casey to represent the accused.
- Four weeks would be needed to prepare a Book of Evidence.
- Hogg was remanded in custody to appear by video link from prison at Ennis District Court on 11 February 2026.
- Investigation
- Detective Garda Aoife O'Malley gave evidence of Hogg's arrest, charge and caution, and Hogg made no reply when charged.
- Other details
- Hogg is held in protective custody on remand at Cloverhill prison.
25 statements extracted from the articles
- whatHogg is charged with attempting to murder Daniel Harty. (thejournal.ie)
- whatKieran Hogg was charged with attempting to murder Daniel Harty. (clareecho.ie)
- whatDaniel Harty suffered three gunshot wounds, to the abdomen, back and arm. (clareecho.ie)
- whereThe incident took place at Pound Street in Sixmilebridge, Co Clare. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe attempted murder took place at Pound Street, Sixmilebridge. (clareecho.ie)
- whenThe alleged incident occurred on 18 January 2020. (thejournal.ie)
- whenHogg appeared in court on a Friday, reported as 6 February 2026. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe incident took place on January 18, 2020. (clareecho.ie)
- weaponThe charge involves discharging a firearm. (thejournal.ie)
- weaponA firearm was discharged during the incident. (clareecho.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Aoife O'Malley gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution, and Hogg made no reply when charged. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationFour weeks would be required to prepare a Book of Evidence. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationA detective garda gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeHogg is also charged with intentionally or recklessly discharging a firearm with intent to murder Daniel Harty. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHogg was also charged with intentionally or recklessly discharging a firearm with intent to murder Daniel Harty. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe case was heard at Ennis District Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe DPP has directed that the case go forward to the Central Criminal Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Alec Gabbett said he could not decide on bail because of the attempted murder charge, and bail can be applied for before the High Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtLegal aid was granted to solicitor John Casey to represent the accused. (thejournal.ie, clareecho.ie)
- courtThe charges were brought at Ennis District Court. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed that the case go forward to the Central Criminal Court. (clareecho.ie)
- courtFour weeks would be needed to prepare a Book of Evidence. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe judge said he could not decide on bail for an attempted murder charge; bail must be applied for in the High Court. (clareecho.ie)
- courtHogg was remanded in custody to appear by video link from prison at Ennis District Court on February 11. (clareecho.ie)
- otherHogg is in protective custody on remand at Cloverhill prison. (clareecho.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 8 Feb2026Dublin man appears in court charged with attempted Harty murder in Sixmilebridge - Clare Echo
First report in this list of the Hogg charges; the article gives the court appearance of 8 February 2026, the remand to 11 February 2026, and the DPP direction to the Central Criminal Court. It also notes the 2023 sentencing of Tony McInerney for the same shooting, which is a separate case and not listed as a person here.
victim, Daniel Harty, 21, irish (judged from name)Daniel Hartyaccused, Kieran Hogg, 33, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kieran Hogg - 1 Feb2026Dublin man appears in court charged with attempted murder of Clare man six years ago
First court appearance of the accused, reported on 7 February 2026. Adds the charges, the court, the DPP direction to the Central Criminal Court, the bail position and the legal aid grant.
accused, Kieran Hogg, 33, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kieran Hoggvictim, Daniel Harty, 21 at the time, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Harty