Case No. 6225Burglary; perverting the course of justice · Co. Dublin · 7 Sep 2021

Dublin-based garda charged with burglary and perverting the course of justice

Robert Gorman, a 43-year-old member of An Garda Síochána, is accused of trespassing with intent to commit a theft offence at a basement flat on Mountjoy Square North, Dublin, on 7 September 2021, and of two counts of perverting the course of justice. The alleged warrant signing and Garda Pulse incidents took place between 21 September and 30 December 2021. He was charged on 11 March at Irishtown Garda station and given bail. On 25 March 2024 he appeared at Dublin District Court, where the DPP directed trial on indictment and the case was adjourned until May. He has not yet indicated a plea.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court25 Mar
    3 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Robert Gorman, a member of An Garda Síochána aged 43, has been charged with trespassing with intent to commit a theft offence.
  • He is accused of two counts of perverting the course of justice, by signing information for a search warrant and by creating three incidents on the Garda Pulse system.
Where
  • The alleged trespass took place at a basement flat on Mountjoy Square North, Dublin.
  • The investigation concerns the activities of a particular Garda unit based in the Dublin Region.
When
  • The alleged trespass is said to have happened on 7 September 2021.
  • The alleged warrant signing and Pulse incidents are said to have happened on 21 September 2021 and between 30 September and 30 December 2021.
Investigation
The Garda Anti-Corruption Unit investigated; four gardaí have been suspended since the investigation began and gardaí say it is ongoing.
Charges
He was charged on 11 March at Irishtown Garda station and given bail.
In court
  • He appeared at Dublin District Court on 25 March 2024, a Monday, where the DPP directed trial on indictment.
  • With the defence consenting, the case was adjourned until May so the State could prepare a book of evidence, and it is to be sent to the Circuit Court.
Other details
  • He has not yet indicated a plea and made no reply to the charges.
  • The Irish Times and Irish Mirror describe him as a fourth Dublin-based garda in court, while the garda.ie update refers to one garda charged.
25 statements extracted from the articles
  • whereThe investigation concerns the activities of a particular Garda unit based in the Dublin Region. (garda.ie)
  • whereThe alleged offence happened at a basement flat at Mountjoy Square North, Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe alleged trespass took place at a basement flat on Mountjoy Square North. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe trespassing offence is alleged to have happened on 7 September 2021. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe warrant signing and Pulse computer incidents allegedly happened between September 30th and December 30th, 2021 and on September 21st, 2021. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe Garda Anti-Corruption Unit is carrying out the investigation. (garda.ie)
  • investigationFour members of An Garda Síochána have been suspended from duty since the investigation started. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí say this is an ongoing criminal investigation and are making no further comment. (garda.ie)
  • investigationThe case followed an investigation by the Garda Anti-Corruption Unit. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe case followed an investigation by the force's anti-corruption unit. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeOne man, a member of An Garda Síochána, has been charged. (garda.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with trespassing with intent to commit a theft offence. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • chargeHe is accused of two counts of perverting the course of public justice. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with the three offences on 11 March at Irishtown station and given bail. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe is accused of two counts of perverting the course of justice. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeHe was charged with the three offences on March 11th at Irishtown Garda station and given bail. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe charged man was due to appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice on the morning of 25 March 2024. (garda.ie)
  • courtRobert Gorman appeared at Dublin District Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP has directed trial on indictment. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe case was adjourned until May so the State could prepare a book of evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe has still to indicate a plea. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtRobert Gorman appeared at Dublin District Court on a Monday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment, and the defence consented to an adjournment until May. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe case is to be sent to the Circuit Court and he has not yet indicated a plea. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherHe made no reply to the charges. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 25 Mar2024
    Dublin-based garda charged with perverting the course of justice and burglary

    Reports the court appearance of Robert Gorman, one of several gardaí charged in connection with alleged offences in 2021. Adds the charges, the DPP's direction for trial on indictment and the adjournment to May.

    accused, Robert Gorman, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Robert Gorman
  2. 25 Mar2024
    Fourth garda in court charged with perverting course of justice and burglary

    Covers the court appearance of Robert Gorman, who was charged after a Garda Anti-Corruption Unit investigation. The article also mentions three other gardaí and a peace commissioner charged separately, which are not included here.

    accused, Robert Gorman, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Robert Gorman
  3. 25 Mar2024
    Update 5 - Court Appearance 25th March 2024 - An Garda Síochána (Anti-Corruption Unit) investigation in the Dublin Region

    Official garda.ie update 5 on the investigation: four gardaí suspended since the investigation began, and one Garda charged and due in court on 25 March 2024. No offence, incident date or other details are given.

    accused, male