Case No. 0891Money laundering, theft, social welfare fraud · Co. Louth

Drogheda mother and daughter jailed for laundering €500,000 for Boylan crime group

Bernadette Thornton, 44, and her daughter Alisha Thornton, 21, both of Moneymore, Drogheda, Co Louth, admitted laundering a combined €513,495 through AIB and Revolut accounts between March 2020 and December 2022 on behalf of the Drogheda-based Boylan organised crime group. The pair, who have no previous convictions, were under investigation as part of a wider probe into the group, which is allegedly headed by two brothers involved in drug sales in the area. At Dundalk Circuit Court in June 2026, the judge handed each a headline sentence of three years and three months, suspending the final 21 months, resulting in 18 months in prison. Alisha was also convicted of carer's allowance fraud.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced3 Jun
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Bernadette Thornton, 44, admitted two counts of money laundering totalling €282,477 between March 2020 and December 2022 through AIB and Revolut accounts.
  • Alisha Thornton, 21, admitted two counts of money laundering totalling €213,018 between January 2021 and December 2022 through AIB and Revolut accounts.
  • The total proceeds of crime laundered was €513,495, with the Revolut account showing €75,466 going in between June 2021 and October 2022 and withdrawals made in Dubai, Ukraine, Turkey and Ireland.
  • The Boylan organised crime group is allegedly headed by two brothers involved in drug sales in the Drogheda area, with Keith Boylan, 30, of Moneymore named as the leader.
  • The mother and daughter, both of Moneymore, Drogheda, have no previous convictions, and Bernadette is a health care worker.
Investigation
The pair were under investigation as part of a wider probe into the Drogheda-based Boylan Organised Crime Group.
In court
The case was heard at Dundalk Circuit Court.
Sentence
The judge handed each a headline sentence of three years and three months, suspending the final 21 months, resulting in 18 months in prison.
Other details
  • Alisha was also convicted of carer's allowance fraud.
  • Det Garda McManus said the offending was more out of family loyalty than fear, and the judge described it as a serious offence of prolonged money laundering over 22 months.
15 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatBernadette Thornton admitted two counts of money laundering totalling €282,477 between March 2020 and December 2022 in an AIB account and a Revolut account. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatAlisha Thornton admitted two counts of money laundering totalling €213,018 between January 2021 and December 2022 in an AIB account and a Revolut account. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe total amount of proceeds of crime laundered was €513,495. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatEight transfers by associates of the OCG to Alisha's AIB account totalling €8,057 brought the total criminal conduct into the account to €40,482. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe total amount laundered through Bernadette's AIB account was €79,999. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatA further €151,019 was laundered through Bernadette's Revolut account. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe Revolut account showed €75,466 going in between June 5, 2021 and October 28, 2022 with withdrawals made in Dubai, Ukraine, Turkey and Ireland. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe mother and daughter have no previous convictions. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe crime group is allegedly headed by two brothers involved in the sale of drugs in the Drogheda area. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatBernadette is a health care worker. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe pair were under investigation as a result of an investigation into the Drogheda-based Boylan Organised Crime Group. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe case was heard at Dundalk Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge handed down a headline sentence of three years and three months to each, suspending the final 21 months, resulting in 18 months behind bars. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherDet Garda McManus said the offending was more out of family loyalty than fear. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe judge described it as a serious offence of prolonged money laundering over 22 months with members living abroad beyond the reach of gardai. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 3 Jun2026
    Drogheda mum and daughter jailed for laundering €500,000 for crime gang

    Reports the sentencing of Bernadette and Alisha Thornton to 18 months (headline three years and three months, final 21 months suspended) for laundering proceeds of crime through AIB and Revolut accounts for the Boylan OCG, with Alisha also convicted of carer's allowance fraud.

    convicted, Bernadette Thornton, 44, female, named, irish (judged from name)Bernadette Thorntonconvicted, Alisha Thornton, 21, female, named, irish (judged from name)Alisha Thornton