Case No. 23153Assault causing harm · Co. Donegal · 14 Oct 2025

Donegal Town man bailed over alleged assault at Railway Park

John McDonagh, 26, of Railway Park, Donegal Town, appeared before Ballyshannon District Court charged with assault causing harm on a man at Railway Park on 14 October 2025. He was granted bail on a €200 bond and the case was adjourned to 11 January 2027 for service of the book of evidence.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court19 Oct
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
9 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatJohn McDonagh, 26, of Railway Park, Donegal Town, appeared before Ballyshannon District Court charged with assault causing harm. (donegallive.ie)
  • whereThe alleged assault occurred at Railway Park, Donegal Town. (donegallive.ie)
  • whenThe alleged assault took place on 14 October 2025. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeThe charge is under Section 3(1) and 3(2) of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act 1997. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtGarda Sergeant Maurice Doyle said Gardaí had no objections to bail. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtBail was granted on a €200 bond with conditions including no contact with the injured party or witnesses. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed prosecution on indictment in the Circuit Court. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe case was adjourned until 11 January 2027 for service of the book of evidence. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe defendant made no reply when cautioned. (donegallive.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 19 Oct2026
    Donegal Town man appears before court on alleged assault charge

    First court appearance; bail granted on €200 bond with conditions including no contact with the injured party or witnesses; DPP directed prosecution on indictment in the Circuit Court; case adjourned to 11 January 2027.

    suspect, John McDonagh, 26, male, named, irish (judged from name)John McDonaghvictim, male