Case No. 15115False imprisonment · Co. Donegal

Donegal man to stand trial on charges including false imprisonment and strangulation

A man in his 30s, who cannot be named at this stage for legal reasons, is accused of false imprisonment, strangling a woman, assault causing harm and criminal damage by fire to a car. The alleged incidents took place on different dates at locations in County Donegal, and seven charges are on the indictment. He appeared at Letterkenny District Court by video link from Castlerea Prison, where he is in custody. The DPP consented to his return for trial, and the judge made an order sending him to the next sitting of Letterkenny Circuit Court, as reported on 28 December 2024.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court20 Dec
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • A man in his 30s is accused of false imprisonment, assault causing harm and criminal damage by fire to a car.
  • The alleged victim is a woman.
Where
  • The alleged incidents took place at different locations in County Donegal.
  • He appeared at Letterkenny District Court by video link from Castlerea Prison, where he is in custody.
When
The alleged incidents occurred on different dates, and the article is dated 20 December 2024 in metadata but was published on 28 December 2024.
Charges
  • The seven charges on the indictment include false imprisonment of a woman and a charge that he strangled a woman and caused her harm.
  • He is charged with criminal damage by fire to a car valued at €9,500 and criminal damage of €170 to a window.
  • He is charged with one count of dangerous driving and two counts of assault.
In court
  • The DPP consented to him being sent forward for trial at the next sitting of Letterkenny Circuit Court.
  • The judge made an order returning him for trial before the Circuit Court and granted two legal counsel to the case.
Other details
  • Legal aid was previously extended to cover psychological and psychiatric assessment.
  • Other summary matters are to be added to the indictment.
16 statements extracted from the articles
  • whereHe appeared at Letterkenny District Court via video link from Castlerea Prison. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe is accused of false imprisonment, assault causing harm and criminal damage by fire to a car. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeSeven charges on the indictment relate to alleged incidents on different dates at locations in County Donegal. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe is charged with false imprisonment of a woman. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe faces a charge that he strangled a woman and caused her harm. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe is charged with criminal damage by fire to a car valued at €9,500. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe is charged with criminal damage of €170 to a window. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe is charged with one count of dangerous driving. (donegallive.ie)
  • chargeHe is charged with two counts of assault. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtHe will go on trial before the Circuit Court. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe DPP consented to him being sent forward for trial to the next sitting of Letterkenny Circuit Court. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe judge made an order returning him for trial. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe judge granted two legal counsel to the case. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe man is in his 30s and cannot be named at this stage for legal reasons. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherLegal aid was previously extended to cover psychological and psychiatric assessment. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherOther summary matters are to be added to the indictment. (donegallive.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 20 Dec2024
    Trial for Donegal man over false imprisonment, strangling woman and burning car

    Reports that the DPP consented to the man being returned for trial at the next sitting of Letterkenny Circuit Court, that he appeared by video link from Castlerea Prison, and that the seven charges cover alleged incidents on different dates at locations in Co Donegal. The article is dated 20 December 2024 in metadata but was published 28 December 2024. No existing case matches this one.

    accused, 30s, malevictim, female