Donegal garda sent forward for Circuit Court trial over alleged false statement
Garda Ian Oates, a 41-year-old man, is accused of knowingly making a false statement tending to show that an offence had been committed, an alleged offence dated 9 December 2020 at a location unknown within the State. He was charged under section 12(a) of the Criminal Law Act 1976 and served with a book of evidence. On 10 February 2025 Letterkenny District Court heard that the DPP had directed he be sent forward to Letterkenny Circuit Court, with the alibi warning applied and legal aid granted. The latest development is an adjournment to the Letterkenny Circuit Court sitting commencing 20 May 2025, and no sentence has been reported.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court10 Feb
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Garda Ian Oates, a 41-year-old man, has been served with a book of evidence after being accused of giving false information.
- Where
- The location of the alleged offence is unknown within the State.
- When
- The alleged offence date is 9 December 2020.
- Charges
- Oates is accused of knowingly making a false statement tending to show that an offence had been committed.
- The charge is an offence contrary to section 12(a) of the Criminal Law Act 1976.
- Investigation
- The case record names Garda Sergeant Brendan McCann as giving evidence of serving the book of evidence, while the court report names Garda Sergeant Gerard Dalton as telling the court of the DPP direction.
- In court
- Oates appeared before Letterkenny District Court, as reported on 10 February 2025.
- The DPP directed that Oates be sent forward to the next session of Letterkenny Circuit Court in May.
- Judge Éiteáin Cunningham applied the alibi warning, and legal aid was granted to Oates's solicitor.
- The case was adjourned to the Letterkenny Circuit Court sitting commencing 20 May 2025.
- Other details
- Oates's solicitor told the court that no other charges had been added to the indictment.
- Oates's solicitor requested one counsel for his client at this stage.
- Sentence
- No sentence has been reported.
12 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGarda Ian Oates has been served with a book of evidence after being accused of giving false information. (donegallive.ie)
- whereThe location of the alleged offence is unknown within the State. (donegallive.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence date is December 9, 2020. (donegallive.ie)
- investigationGarda Sergeant Brendan McCann gave evidence of serving Oates with the book of evidence. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeOates is accused of knowingly making a false statement tending to show that an offence had been committed. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeThe charge is an offence contrary to section 12(a) of the Criminal Law Act, 1976. (donegallive.ie)
- courtOates appeared before Letterkenny District Court. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe DPP has directed that Oates be sent forward to the next session of Letterkenny Circuit Court in May. (donegallive.ie)
- courtJudge Éiteáin Cunningham applied the alibi warning and legal aid was granted to Oates's solicitor. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned to the next sitting of Letterkenny Circuit Court commencing on May 20. (donegallive.ie)
- otherOates's solicitor told the court that no other charges had been added to the indictment. (donegallive.ie)
- otherOates's solicitor requested one counsel for his client at this stage. (donegallive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 10 Feb2025Donegal garda accused of giving false information returned for Circuit Court trial
Reports the DPP's direction to send Garda Ian Oates forward for trial, the charge under section 12(a) of the Criminal Law Act 1976, and the adjournment to the Circuit Court sitting beginning May 20, 2025.
accused, Ian Oates, 41, male, named, irish (judged from name)Ian Oates