Case No. 8647Fraud · Co. Carlow

Doctor found guilty of defrauding HSE at Carlow Circuit Court

Dr Muhammad Waqas Rabbani, a 45-year-old Pakistani national who practises at Tullow Family Medical Centre in Tullow, County Carlow, was prosecuted over claims for services that the Health Service Executive (HSE) allegedly paid for but that were not provided. The alleged offences were committed between 3 and 29 September 2018 and related to €2,229.72 paid in October 2018, after a PCRS investigation began that month. Gardaí searched the practice on 25 February 2022, and he was charged under section 6 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001 and pleaded not guilty to 20 counts of fraud. On 10 July 2026, after a two-week trial at Carlow Circuit Court, the jury found him guilty of 13 counts and not guilty of four, and he was remanded on continuing bail until 31 July, when a sentencing date will be fixed.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court8 Jul
  5. Convicted10 Jul
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
The prosecution alleges the doctor dishonestly induced the HSE, through the PCRS, to pay him for services he did not provide.
Where
The doctor practises at Tullow Family Medical Centre, The Square, Tullow, County Carlow.
When
The alleged offences were committed on different dates between 3 and 29 September 2018.
Cause
The prosecution alleges that claim forms for treatments that were never performed were created to trick the HSE.
Investigation
  • The investigation began in October 2018 after the PCRS probity division raised a query, and the Medical Council and An Garda Síochána were later notified.
  • Gardaí searched the doctor's practice on Friday 25 February 2022 and began taking statements from medical card patients.
  • The HSE froze funds due to the doctor after launching its investigation in 2018.
Charges
The doctor was charged under section 6 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001 and pleaded not guilty to 20 counts of fraud.
In court
  • Sources give different numbers of witnesses: one says 45 patients and another says 48 civilian witnesses said they had not received the treatment claimed.
  • Some patients said the signatures on the claim forms were not their own.
  • On 10 July 2026 the jury found the doctor guilty of 13 counts and not guilty of four, and the judge directed not guilty verdicts on three further charges due to insufficient evidence.
Sentence
The doctor was remanded on continuing bail until 31 July, when a sentencing date will be fixed.
Other details
The prosecution described the offending as a systemic attempt to defraud the HSE, and the doctor is represented by barristers Lorcan Staines and Rebecca Smith and solicitors Michael J Staines and Co.
28 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe prosecution alleges the doctor dishonestly induced the HSE, through the PCRS, to pay him for services he did not provide. (rte.ie)
  • whatThe doctor was found guilty of 13 counts of fraud and not guilty of four counts. (rte.ie)
  • whatThe offences related to €2,229.72 paid by the HSE to the doctor in October 2018. (rte.ie)
  • whereThe doctor practises at Tullow Family Medical Centre in Tullow. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences were committed on different dates between 3 and 29 September 2018. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe offences were committed on different dates between 3 and 29 September 2018. (rte.ie)
  • causeClaim forms for treatments that were never performed were created to trick the HSE. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe investigation into the doctor's claims began in October 2018 after the PCRS probity division raised a query. (rte.ie)
  • investigationAfter the PCRS investigation, the Medical Council and An Garda Síochána were notified. (rte.ie)
  • investigationGardaí searched the doctor's practice on Friday 25 February 2022. (rte.ie)
  • investigationGardaí began taking statements from the doctor's medical card patients. (rte.ie)
  • investigation48 civilian witnesses said they had not received the treatment claimed. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe HSE froze funds due to the doctor after launching its investigation in 2018. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe doctor pleaded not guilty to 20 counts of fraud. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe doctor was charged under section 6 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe fraud trial is being held at Carlow Circuit Court. (rte.ie)
  • court45 patients gave evidence that they did not receive specialised treatments the doctor claimed to have provided. (rte.ie)
  • courtSome patients said signatures on the claim forms were not their own. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe director of nursing could not cross-reference four claims for nursing home consultations to doctors' appointment notes. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe trial continues the following day. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe trial was heard at Carlow Circuit Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe judge directed a not guilty verdict on three further charges due to insufficient evidence. (rte.ie)
  • sentenceThe doctor was remanded on continuing bail until 31 July, when a sentencing date will be fixed. (rte.ie)
  • otherA former principal medical officer said HSE payments to GPs are made on a trust basis. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe doctor is represented by barristers Lorcan Staines and Rebecca Smith and solicitors Michael J Staines and Co. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe defendant is a married Pakistani national who came to Ireland in 2017, has two young children and no previous convictions. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe prosecution described the offending as a systemic attempt to defraud the HSE. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe doctor signed off on each form, admitted submitting some through the PCRS online portal, and stood to gain financially. (rte.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 10 Jul2026
    Doctor found guilty of 'systematically' defrauding HSE

    Reports the jury verdict after a two-week trial at Carlow Circuit Court. The doctor was found guilty of 13 counts and not guilty of four, and remanded on bail until 31 July for sentencing.

    convicted, Dr Muhammad Waqas Rabbani, male, namedDr Muhammad Waqas Rabbani
  2. 8 Jul2026
    Fraud trial of doctor hears HSE pays GPs on 'trust basis'

    Reports the trial at Carlow Circuit Court: the not guilty plea, the charge under section 6 of the 2001 Act, the prosecution's allegations, evidence from a former PCRS official and patients, and the defendant's background.

    accused, Muhammad Waqas Rabbani, 45, male, Pakistani, named, non-irishMuhammad Waqas Rabbani