DK Windows and Doors liquidators' investigation into fraudulent trading continues
DK Windows and Doors, a Dublin windows and doors company, ceased trading in December 2024 after the landlord of its Westland Business Park premises changed the locks due to rent arrears, leaving around €1.2 million in customer deposits owed on 225 unfulfilled orders. Creditors alleged that the firm and its senior management, including sole director Darragh Kane, engaged in fraudulent and reckless trading in the lead up to the collapse. The High Court appointed joint liquidators Nicholas O'Dwyer and Colm Doran, whose investigation is ongoing, with significant payments to Revenue and certain suppliers noted in the period before liquidation and the books unclear as to where the money came from. On 7 May 2025, Mr Justice Cregan adjourned the matter to late June for a further update on the liquidators' steps.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court7 May
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- DK Windows and Doors ceased trading in December 2024 after the landlord changed the locks on its Westland Business Park premises due to rent arrears.
- The firm owed around €1.2 million in customer deposits for 225 unfulfilled orders.
- Cause
- Creditors alleged the firm and its senior management engaged in fraudulent and reckless trading in the lead up to the liquidation.
- Investigation
- The High Court appointed joint liquidators Nicholas O'Dwyer and Colm Doran to investigate the company's finances.
- Significant payments were made to Revenue and certain suppliers in the lead up to the liquidation, and the books and records are unclear as to where the money came from.
- The liquidators entered into agreements with third parties to assist customers with outstanding window and door installations.
- The liquidators are obliged to file a report with the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement.
- In court
- On 7 May 2025, Mr Justice Cregan adjourned the matter to late June for a further update.
- Other details
- Darragh Kane is the sole director of the company.
- It is unlikely there will be any return to creditors from the liquidation.
12 statements extracted from the articles
- whatDK Windows and Doors ceased trading in December 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe firm owed around €1.2 million in customer deposits for 225 unfulfilled orders. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe landlord changed the locks on the company's premises due to rent arrears. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe liquidators entered into agreements with third parties to assist customers with outstanding window and door installations. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe liquidators are obliged to file a report with the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationSignificant payments were made to Revenue and certain suppliers in the lead up to the liquidation. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe books and records are unclear as to where the money for the payments came from. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeCreditors alleged the firm and its senior management engaged in fraudulent activity. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeA report compiled on behalf of 50 customers alleged fraudulent and reckless trading by DK Windows and Doors. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMr Justice Cregan adjourned the matter to late June for a further update. (irishtimes.com)
- otherDarragh Kane is the sole director of the company. (irishtimes.com)
- otherIt is unlikely there will be any return to creditors from the liquidation. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 7 May2025DK Windows and Doors liquidators’ investigation is continuing, court hears
First report on the liquidation investigation; Mr Justice Cregan adjourned the matter to late June for a further update on steps to be taken.
accused, Darragh Kane, named, irish (judged from name)Darragh Kane