Derry man in court over fatal Inishowen crash
On 6 September 2024 a collision at the Quigley's Point junction in Inishowen, County Donegal, killed Donna McDermott of Greencastle, who was a backseat passenger in one of the cars involved. Noah Morrison, a 21-year-old Derry man, has been charged with careless driving causing death and failing to offer assistance to the injured victim, and also faces drink driving, dangerous driving, failing to report an injury and drug possession charges, the drug charges relating to incidents on 6 September 2024 and 14 November 2024. In October 2025 the DPP consented to trial in the Circuit Court on a signed guilty plea. On 18 June 2026 Morrison appeared before Carndonagh District Court for service of the Book of Evidence, the defence said it was still awaiting CCTV footage, and he was remanded on continuing bail until 15 September.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court18 Jun
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Donna McDermott of Greencastle died in a collision at the Quigley's Point junction.
- Where
- The fatal collision occurred at the Quigley's Point junction in Inishowen, County Donegal.
- When
- The collision happened on 6 September 2024.
- Other details
- Donna McDermott was a backseat passenger in a car that collided with another vehicle.
- The victim's mother, who was driving, suffered serious injuries in the crash.
- Charges
- Noah Morrison, a 21-year-old Derry man, is charged with careless driving causing death under Section 52 of the Road Traffic Act, described in one source as causing death by driving without due care and attention.
- Morrison is charged with failing to offer assistance to the injured victim, contrary to Section 106 of the Road Traffic Act.
- Morrison also faces charges of drink driving, dangerous driving and failing to report an injury.
- Morrison is charged with three counts of drug possession on 6 September 2024 at Carrowkeel, Quigley's Point.
- Morrison is charged with three further counts of drug possession at Glenside Business Park, Ballybofey, on 14 November 2024.
- In court
- The DPP consented in October 2025 to trial in the Circuit Court on a signed guilty plea.
- On 18 June 2026 Morrison appeared before Carndonagh District Court, where Garda Michael Connolly said he served the Book of Evidence; one source says this was at Buncrana Courthouse.
- Morrison was remanded on continuing bail until 15 September.
- Investigation
- The defence said it was still awaiting CCTV footage of the collision.
17 statements extracted from the articles
- whatNoah Morrison appeared before Carndonagh District Court for service of the Book of Evidence. (donegallive.ie)
- whatDonna McDermott was killed in the collision. (donegallive.ie)
- whereThe fatal crash occurred at the Quigley's Point junction. (donegallive.ie)
- whenThe collision happened on 6 September 2024. (donegallive.ie)
- causeMorrison is charged with causing death by driving without due care and attention. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeCareless driving causing death is charged under Section 52 of the Road Traffic Act. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeMorrison faces a charge of failing to offer assistance to the injured victim after the collision. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeThe failure-to-help charge is contrary to Section 106 of the Road Traffic Act. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeMorrison is charged with three counts of drug possession on 6 September 2024 at Carrowkeel, Quigley's Point. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeMorrison also faces charges of drink driving, dangerous driving and failing to report an injury. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeMorrison is charged with three further counts of drug possession at Glenside Business Park, Ballybofey, on 14 November 2024. (donegallive.ie)
- courtGarda Michael Connolly said he served the Book of Evidence on Morrison at Buncrana Courthouse. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe defence said it was still awaiting CCTV footage of the collision. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe DPP had consented in October of the previous year to trial in the Circuit Court on a signed guilty plea. (donegallive.ie)
- courtMorrison was remanded on continuing bail until 15 September. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe victim was a backseat passenger in the car that collided with another vehicle. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe victim's mother, who was driving, suffered serious injuries in the crash. (donegallive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 18 Jun2026Man appears in court over fatal crash that left much-loved Greencastle woman dead
First report of the court appearance: charges, court steps and bail for a fatal crash from September 2024.
accused, Noah Morrison, 21, male, named, irish (judged from name)Noah Morrisonvictim, Donna McDermott, mid-30s, female, irish (judged from name)Donna McDermottvictim, Mary, 70s, female, irish (judged from name)Mary