Case No. 3858Burglary · Co. Dublin · 23 Nov 2023
Daniel Owie, 22, given two-year suspended sentence for burglary during Dublin riots
Daniel Owie, 22, was given a two-year suspended sentence at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court after pleading guilty to burglary at Foot Locker during the Dublin riots on 23 November 2023. He had contacted gardaí in December 2024 after seeing a CCTV image of himself looting from the store.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced10 Feb
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatDaniel Owie contacted gardaí after seeing a photograph of himself looting from Foot Locker (irishmirror.ie)
- whatOwie was caught on footage forcing a door open before stealing €600 worth of clothing and runners (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDuring the disturbances, three buses and a LUAS were destroyed by fire (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThirteen gardaí and five members of the public were injured during the rioting (irishmirror.ie)
- whatOwie forced open a store room by rushing at it (irishmirror.ie)
- whenDaniel Owie contacted gardaí in December 2024 (irishmirror.ie)
- whenIntruders entered the Foot Locker store at 8pm on the night of the riots (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí circulated stills from CCTV footage during a media press conference following the riots in November 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí published more than 160 images after gathering more than 17,000 hours of CCTV footage (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationOwie met gardaí in January 2025 and made full admissions (irishmirror.ie)
- courtOwie pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to burglary on November 23, 2023 (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceJudge Crowe set a headline sentence of three years before imposing a term of two years suspended in full on strict conditions (irishmirror.ie)
- otherOwie had €1,300 in court as an expression of his remorse (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 10 Feb2026Man who went to gardai after seeing photo of himself looting avoids jail
Sentencing details: headline sentence of three years reduced to two years suspended in full on strict conditions. Judge Orla Crowe presided. Owie had €1,300 in court as expression of remorse and had written a letter of apology.
convicted, Daniel Owie, 22, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Daniel Owie