Conor McGregor seeks to admit new evidence in civil rape appeal
Conor McGregor is seeking permission from the Court of Appeal to admit new evidence from two people in his appeal against a civil jury's finding that he raped Nikita Hand at the Beacon Hotel in Sandyford, Dublin, in December 2018. Mr Justice Noonan directed that a formal application with affidavits must be filed, with further case management directions set for 2 May 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court11 Mar
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports14 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMr Lawrence said in his evidence that he and Ms Hand had consensual sex twice. (irishtimes.com)
- whatCCTV showed Mr McGregor leaving with Ms Kealey about 6.15pm and Ms Hand leaving with Mr Lawrence at about 10.30pm. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMs Hand and Ms Kealey had been partying from the evening of 8 December into the morning of 9 December and had consumed alcohol and cocaine. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMr McGregor and Mr Lawrence were separately partying in Dublin nightclubs and consumed alcohol. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMs Hand was wearing a tampon at the time and would not have sex during her period. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMr McGregor said he was shocked when later shown photos of bruising on Ms Hand. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMr Lawrence said he had consensual sex twice with Ms Hand using condoms and had seen no marks other than a small bruise. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMr Justice Owens told the jury that non-consensual sexual activity constitutes the tort of assault (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe alleged assault took place in the Beacon Hotel in Sandyford (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe appeal is listed for 21 March 2025 before the three-judge Court of Appeal for the purpose of making directions to progress it. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial before Mr Justice Alexander Owens lasted 12 days. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMr Justice Noonan directed that the appeal should not proceed without determining admissibility of new evidence (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceA High Court civil jury awarded €248,603 in damages to Ms Hand against Mr McGregor. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceA High Court civil jury awarded €248,603 in damages to Ms Hand against McGregor last November (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 21 Mar2025Conor McGregor wants court to allow new evidence from two people in appeal of civil rape case finding
Reports a case management hearing in the Court of Appeal where Mr Justice Noonan directed that McGregor must file a formal application with affidavits to admit new evidence before the appeal can proceed, with further directions set for 2 May 2025. Also details the grounds of appeal, the original jury findings, and the role of co-defendant James Lawrence.
accused, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorvictim, Nikita Hand, 36, female, irish (judged from name)Nikita Handaccused, James Lawrence, 35, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence - 11 Mar2025Conor McGregor appeal against civil jury’s rape finding due before Court of Appeal this month
Confirms the appeal is listed for 21 March 2025 for directions, details the grounds of appeal (legal and factual errors by Mr Justice Owens), and provides further trial evidence including CCTV timings, the roles of James Lawrence and Danielle Kealey, and Ms Hand's account of the evening.
victim, Nikita Hand, 35, female, irish (judged from name)Nikita Handsuspect, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorsuspect, James Lawrence, 35, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence