Case No. 2158Rape (civil) · Co. Dublin · 9 Dec 2018

Conor McGregor ordered to pay legal costs over CCTV footage from civil rape trial

Mr Justice Alexander Owens ordered Conor McGregor to pay the legal costs of Nikita Hand's application to restrain dissemination of CCTV footage from the civil rape trial in which a jury found he raped her in the Beacon Hotel, Sandyford, in December 2018. The judge found McGregor was 'the author of his own misfortune' for reposting a media article suggesting the footage would be published, but held there was no need to continue the restraining order after McGregor's affidavits.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court5 Mar
    2 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
18 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe woman claimed her father used confidential bank transaction data to track her abroad (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe jury found McGregor raped Ms Hand in the Beacon Hotel in Sandyford on 9 December 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe father was able to trace the woman and her partner in Spain and the UK (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe woman sought damages for alleged breach of duty, privacy and confidence (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe case was heard at the High Court before Ms Justice Mary Rose Gearty (irishtimes.com)
  • courtAn order was made in February 2023 for a lodgement (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe plaintiffs will have their costs awarded up to October 9th, 2023 (irishtimes.com)
  • courtConor McGregor was ordered to pay the legal costs of an application restraining dissemination of CCTV footage from the civil rape trial. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge held there was no need for continuation of the restraining order. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtA stay was placed on the costs order pending appeal. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtMcGregor has lodged an appeal in the Court of Appeal against the jury finding, with no hearing date fixed. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceNikita Hand, 35, a mother of one from Drimnagh, was awarded almost €250,000 in damages. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherBank of Ireland agreed to pay a €350,000 settlement (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe settlement was made without admission of liability (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe settlement was split with €275,000 to the woman and €75,000 to her partner (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe bank denied there had been any breach of duty (irishtimes.com)
  • otherMcGregor provided three affidavits stating he deleted the footage, had not released it, and recognised an implied undertaking not to release it. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherMcGregor said he had discussed the CCTV with his partner Dee Devlin but had not released copies to any person. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 6 Mar2025
    Conor McGregor ordered to pay legal costs of bid to stop spread of CCTV footage from civil rape trial

    Reports the costs order and the judge's decision not to continue the CCTV restraining order, notes McGregor's pending Court of Appeal challenge to the jury finding, and details the affidavits and arguments on both sides.

    victim, Nikita Hand, 35, female, irish (judged from name)Nikita Handaccused, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregoraccused, James Lawrence, 35, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence
  2. 5 Mar2025
    Bank of Ireland pays €350,000 to settle court case over alleged release of woman’s details to estranged father

    Reports the €350,000 settlement terms, the High Court proceedings before Ms Justice Gearty, and the bank's acknowledgment of falling short of expected standards following DPC involvement.

    victim, femalevictimaccused, male