Conor McGregor files affidavit confirming deletion of CCTV footage from civil rape trial
Conor McGregor filed a brief court affidavit stating he has deleted all copies of CCTV footage used in the High Court civil rape trial in which a jury found he raped Nikita Hand in the Beacon Hotel, Sandyford, in December 2018. Mr Justice Alexander Owens had directed the affidavit after concerns the footage might be released on social media, and a more detailed affidavit is due before the matter returns before the judge on 12 February 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court13 Jan
5 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports37 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMr Coleman said Rapisarda indicated that publication of the CCTV would help boost sales of the drink. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMs Hand told the jury that McGregor raped her in the Beacon Hotel after she told him she did not want to have sex. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMs Hand said she was menstruating at the time, had a tampon inside her and would not have sex during her period. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMs Hand is a mother of one and a hair colourist. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatMs Hand told the jury she had a tampon inside her and would not have sex during her period. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatMs Hand said Mr McGregor would not take no for an answer and she stopped resisting after he put her in a chokehold three times, leaving her struggling to breathe. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatMr McGregor denied rape and said they had vigorous, athletic and fully consensual sex. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatMs Hand said in evidence she had no memory of having sex with Mr Lawrence and described his account as a made-up story. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatMcGregor filed a document in court proceedings stating he deleted copies of CCTV footage used in the civil trial (irishtimes.com)
- whatMcGregor last week provided a brief affidavit stating he had deleted the footage (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe rape occurred in the Beacon Hotel in Sandyford (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe rape occurred on December 9th, 2018 (irishtimes.com)
- courtNikita Hand was awarded almost €250,000 damages after a High Court jury upheld her civil rape claim in November 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- courtBarrister Siún Leonowicz, instructed by Coleman Legal Services, is seeking an injunction to prevent dissemination, circulation or publication of the CCTV footage. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMcGregor has been ordered to pay the bulk of the legal costs, estimated at more than €1 million. (irishtimes.com)
- courtNikita Hand was awarded almost €250,000 damages after a High Court jury upheld her civil claim that she was raped by Conor McGregor in a Dublin hotel in December 2018. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe jury found James Lawrence had not assaulted Ms Hand in the Beacon hotel after Mr McGregor left. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtMr Justice Alexander Owens permitted Ms Hand's lawyers to serve an abridged notice of an injunction application on Monday 13 January 2025. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtMs Hand's solicitor David Coleman said any attempt to publish the CCTV is a contempt of court whose only purpose is to undermine and discredit the verdict of the court and gain financially. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtOn Thursday the judge was already due to deal with Mr McGregor's description of the court on social media as a 'kangaroo court'. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtMr McGregor has been ordered to pay the bulk of the legal costs of the case. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtConor McGregor was ordered not to disseminate CCTV footage used in the High Court civil trial (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe matter was returned to 12 February (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge placed a stay on costs orders pending appeal, conditional on McGregor paying €100,000 towards damages and €200,000 towards legal costs (irishtimes.com)
- courtConor McGregor was ordered by the High Court not to disseminate CCTV footage used in a civil trial. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMr Justice Alexander Owens granted the order to lawyers for Nikita Hand. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMr Justice Alexander Owens directed McGregor to provide an affidavit on January 16th (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge refused an adjournment and directed an affidavit be provided within a week of the December 16th hearing (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe matter is to return before the judge on February 12th (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceNikita Hand was awarded almost €250,000 in damages in November (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceNikita Hand, 35, was awarded almost €250,000 damages against McGregor on foot of the jury verdict last November. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Sunday Independent and Sunday World reported that Gabriel Ernesto Rapisarda, a business associate of Mr McGregor's, indicated there will be imminent publication of the CCTV footage. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherMr Rapisarda runs the Gabriel and Spirits company, which helps distribute Mr McGregor's stout in Italy. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe business partner indicated that publication of the CCTV would help boost sales of Mr McGregor's alcohol. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherGabriel Ernesto Rapisarda is an Italian business associate of Conor McGregor (irishtimes.com)
- otherBoth men denied the claims and pleaded consensual sex (irishtimes.com)
- otherRemy Farrell SC, with barrister Shelley Horan, for McGregor, said he had not given the CCTV to Rapisarda and there was no evidence Rapisarda had the footage (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Jan2025Conor McGregor says in court document he has deleted his copies of CCTV footage used in civil rape trial
Reports that McGregor has filed a brief affidavit confirming deletion of the CCTV footage, with a more detailed affidavit to be provided before the February 12th hearing. Also details the judge's reasoning for the non-dissemination order and the role of Italian business partner Gabriel Ernesto Rapisarda in raising concerns.
victim, Nikita Hand, 35, femaleNikita Handaccused, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregoraccused, James Lawrence, 35, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence - 17 Jan2025Conor McGregor ordered by judge not to disseminate CCTV footage shown to civil rape trial jury
Reports a High Court order preventing McGregor from disseminating CCTV footage from the civil rape trial, with the judge finding a real danger he would share it with an Italian business partner. Also notes the jury's finding that James Lawrence had not assaulted Hand, and Hand's €250,000 damages award.
victim, Nikita Hand, 35, femaleNikita Handsuspect, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorsuspect, James Lawrence, 35, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence - 16 Jan2025Conor McGregor ordered by judge not to disseminate CCTV footage from civil rape case
Judge ordered McGregor to return and delete CCTV footage, return matter to 12 February, and noted his social media comments calling Ms Hand a liar. Costs orders mean McGregor faces paying bulk of Ms Hand's €1.3m legal costs, with a stay pending appeal conditional on paying €100,000 towards damages and €200,000 towards legal costs.
victim, Nikita Hand, 35, femaleNikita Handsuspect, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorsuspect, James Lawrence, 35, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence - 13 Jan2025Nikita Hand begins court bid over CCTV footage used in Conor McGregor trial
Nikita Hand's solicitors served an abridged notice of an injunction application to restrain publication of CCTV footage, arguing it would be contempt of court. The article also provides further detail on the trial evidence, including Hand's account of the rape and the 'kangaroo court' social media remark by McGregor that the judge was due to address.
victim, Nikita Hand, 35, female, non-irish (judged from name)Nikita Handsuspect, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorsuspect, James Lawrence, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence - 13 Jan2025Conor McGregor case: Nikita Hand asks court to restrain ‘imminent’ publication of CCTV footage
Nikita Hand's lawyers have served abridged notice of an injunction application to prevent publication of CCTV footage, with the motion to be heard on Thursday. The article details the trial testimony, the alleged commercial motivation for publishing the footage through Gabriel Ernesto Rapisarda's company, and the judge's pending consideration of McGregor's 'kangaroo court' remark on social media.
victim, Nikita Hand, 35, femaleNikita Handsuspect, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorsuspect, James Lawrence, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrence