Case No. 3460Perverting the course of justice · Co. Limerick

Charges dropped against three Limerick gardaí in perverting course of justice

Three Irish gardaí serving in the Roads Policing Unit at Limerick Garda Division, Peter O'Donnell, Paul Baynham and Niall Deegan, were charged in September 2024 with a total of 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí to pervert the course of public justice, relating to the alleged squaring away of Fixed Charge Notices between 2017 and 2019. The three had been suspended from the force since 2019 following a GNBCI investigation into alleged unlawful interference with road traffic prosecutions. Their trials at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court were delayed in March 2026 due to budgetary overruns, and the State entered a nolle prosequi on 25 March 2026, formally dropping all charges. The three men have since launched High Court proceedings to recover compensation for the impact of the six-year investigation on their health and families.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Charged12 Sep
    2 reports
  4. In court12 Sep
    6 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Three serving gardaí in the Limerick Garda Division Roads Policing Unit were charged with 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí to pervert the course of public justice, relating to the alleged squaring away of Fixed Charge Notices.
Where
The accused were arrested and cautioned at Mayorstone Garda Station and appeared before Limerick District Court and Limerick Circuit Criminal Court.
When
The alleged offences took place on dates between 2017 and 2019.
Cause
The charges related to alleged unlawful garda interference in the prosecution of fixed charge penalty notices for road traffic offences.
Investigation
The probe was led by detectives from the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in Dublin, and the three gardaí were suspended from the force in 2019.
Charges
Peter O'Donnell faced 14 counts, Paul Baynham 10 counts, and Niall Deegan 9 counts of communicating with other gardaí in a manner intended to pervert the course of public justice.
In court
  • The DPP directed trial on indictment at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court, and the three were remanded on continuing bail.
  • Trials were delayed in March 2026 due to budgetary overruns, and the defence applied to have the cases struck out.
Sentence
The State entered a nolle prosequi at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court on 25 March 2026, formally dropping all 33 charges.
Other details
  • The three gardaí denied all charges; two had their suspensions lifted and O'Donnell retired from the force about a month before the withdrawal.
  • The three men launched High Court proceedings in July 2026 to recover compensation for the impact of the investigation on their health and families.
146 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThree serving gardaí appeared before Limerick District Court charged in connection with an alleged squaring away of Fixed Charge Notices. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThree serving gardaí were charged in connection with an alleged squaring away of Fixed Charge Notices. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatTwo Limerick gardaí were returned for trial, accused of intending to pervert the course of justice. (rte.ie)
  • whatThree gardaí deny 33 charges between them of communicating with other gardaí to pervert the course of public justice. (limerickleader.ie)
  • whatThree Limerick gardaí cleared of alleged road traffic offences have launched legal proceedings to recover compensation. (thejournal.ie)
  • whereThe three gardaí were arrested and cautioned at Mayorstone Garda Station. (rte.ie)
  • whereThe three gardaí appeared before Limerick District Court. (limerickpost.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe three accused were arrested and cautioned at Mayorstone Garda Station. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe gardaí appeared before Limerick District Court. (rte.ie)
  • whereThe hearing took place at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (limerickpost.ie)
  • whereAll three gardaí were serving in the Roads Policing Unit at Henry Street Garda station, Limerick Garda Division. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe three gardaí were serving in the Roads Policing Unit at Henry Street Garda Station, Limerick Garda Division. (limerickpost.ie)
  • whereThe charges were dropped at Limerick Circuit Court. (rte.ie)
  • whereThe three men were all serving in the Limerick Garda Division in roads policing. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences were committed on dates between 2017 and 2019. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie, limerickpost.ie)
  • whenThe three gardaí were arrested and charged on the same Tuesday evening. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe alleged communications took place between 2017 and 2019. (limerickpost.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences took place on dates between 2017 and 2019. (irishtimes.com, limerickleader.ie, limerickpost.ie)
  • whenThe court appearance took place on Thursday 24 October 2024. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe offences were alleged to have taken place between 2017 and 2019. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe alleged conduct took place on dates between 2017 and 2019. (limerickleader.ie)
  • causeThe charges relate to the alleged squaring away of fixed charge notices for road traffic offences. (rte.ie)
  • causeThe trials were delayed due to a drain on resources and budgetary overruns. (limerickpost.ie)
  • causeThe probe concerned alleged unlawful garda interference in the prosecution of fixed charge penalty notices for motoring offences. (limerickpost.ie)
  • causeThe three gardaí were suspended in 2019 after a probe into alleged unlawful interference with road traffic prosecutions. (limerickpost.ie)
  • investigationThe probe is being led by detectives from the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe probe is being led by detectives from the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation in Dublin. (limerickpost.ie, irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe three accused were arrested and cautioned at Mayorstone Garda Station the previous Tuesday. (limerickpost.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • investigationDetective Inspector Mark Waters told the court he arrested and charged each of the three gardaí, and each made no reply to the charges. (limerickpost.ie)
  • investigationThe prosecution followed a Garda investigation into the alleged squaring away of fixed charge notices for road traffic offences. (limerickpost.ie)
  • investigationThe investigation was led by detectives from the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (limerickpost.ie)
  • investigationThe charges followed a garda investigation led by detectives from the GNBCI. (rte.ie)
  • investigationThe garda investigation was led by detectives from the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (limerickleader.ie)
  • investigationThe three gardaí have been investigated since 2019 and suspended from duty since 2020. (limerickleader.ie)
  • investigationThe accused gardaí had been under investigation since 2019 and had been on suspension since 2020. (limerickpost.ie)
  • investigationThe investigation was led by the GNBCI, a Dublin-based unit located at Harcourt Square. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe case was an investigation led by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (limerickpost.ie)
  • investigationThe initial investigation was led by detectives from the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (limerickleader.ie)
  • investigationThe suspension followed a Garda investigation into alleged unlawful interference by gardaí into potential or pending road traffic prosecutions. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe investigation was focused entirely on the Limerick Garda Division and led by the GNBCI based in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe GNBCI investigation had led to charges of perverting the course of justice against seven gardaí and a retired superintendent. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe probe was led by the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused were charged with a total of 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí to pervert the course of public justice. (rte.ie)
  • chargePeter O'Donnell is accused of 14 separate counts. (rte.ie)
  • chargePaul Baynham is charged with ten separate counts. (rte.ie)
  • chargeNiall Deegan is charged with nine separate counts. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused were charged with 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí in a manner that had a tendency or was intended to pervert the course of public justice. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeGarda O’Donnell is accused of 14 counts under the legislation, contrary to Common Law. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeGarda Baynham is charged with 10 counts under the legislation. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeGarda Deegan is charged with nine counts under the legislation. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused were charged with 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí in a manner intended to pervert the course of public justice. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeGarda Peter O’Donnell faces 14 counts. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeGarda Paul Baynham faces 10 counts. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeGarda Niall Deegan faces 9 counts. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused were charged with a total of 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí in a manner intended to pervert the course of public justice. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Peter O’Donnell is accused of 14 separate counts. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Paul Baynham is charged with ten separate counts. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeGarda Niall Deegan is charged with nine separate counts. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe two gardaí are accused of intending to pervert the course of justice. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused face a total of 33 charges. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeO’Donnell faces 14 separate charges. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeBaynham is charged with 10 separate counts. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeDeegan is charged with nine separate counts. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused gardaí face a total of 33 charges. (rte.ie)
  • chargeGarda O’Donnell faces 14 separate charges. (rte.ie)
  • chargeGarda Baynham faces ten separate counts. (rte.ie)
  • chargeGarda Deegan faces nine separate counts. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe charges relate to the squaring away of fixed charge penalty notices over road traffic offences. (limerickleader.ie)
  • chargeThe three accused face a total of thirty-three charges between them. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe accused are alleged to have communicated with other gardaí in a manner that had a tendency or was intended to pervert the course of justice. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe three gardaí were due to stand trial for alleged perverting the course of justice. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeIn September 2024 the three officers appeared at Limerick District Court charged with a total of 33 counts. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThree gardaí faced 33 counts of communicating with other gardaí to pervert the course of public justice. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe three gardaí were charged with 33 charges between them. (limerickleader.ie)
  • chargeThe charges alleged they communicated with other gardaí in a manner intended to pervert the course of public justice. (limerickleader.ie)
  • chargeThe State withdrew 33 charges against three gardaí. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe charges were for perverting the course of justice. (limerickpost.ie)
  • chargeThe three men had been charged with perverting the course of justice in connection with the alleged termination of road traffic offence tickets. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed that all three gardaí face trial on indictment at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtJudge Patricia Harney remanded the three accused on continuing bail and adjourned the matter to Limerick District Court on 24 October. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe three accused were remanded on station bail to appear before the District Court on 12 September. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions directed that all three gardaí face trial on indictment at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtNone of the three accused spoke during the hearing, and details of their cases were not heard. (limerickpost.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • courtJudge Patricia Harney remanded the three accused on continuing bail and adjourned the matter to Limerick District Court on 24 October for service of the State’s Books of Evidence. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe DPP has directed that all three accused face trial on indictment at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe three accused were remanded on continuing bail and the matter was adjourned to Limerick District Court on 24 October for service of the Books of Evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed that all three accused face trial on indictment at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe three were remanded on continuing bail and the matter was adjourned to Limerick District Court on October 24th for service of the State’s books of evidence. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtTwo Gardaí in the Limerick Garda Division were returned for trial. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe accused were returned for trial to the present sittings of the Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtEach accused was served with a completed Book of Evidence. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe two gardaí signed a €100 bail bond that did not have to be lodged. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtEach accused was granted an application for a senior and a junior defence counsel. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe judge gave each accused the alibi warning, requiring alibi witness details within 14 days. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe judge remanded the two gardaí on continuing bail for trial. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtBaynham was not present in court, and his matter was adjourned to the following week. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtO'Donnell and Deegan were served with a Book of Evidence and returned for trial to the Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
  • courtBoth accused were granted Senior and Junior Counsel for the circuit court proceedings. (rte.ie)
  • courtBoth accused were remanded on continuing bail. (rte.ie)
  • courtBaynham, who was on bail, was not present in court. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe matter against Baynham was adjourned to the following week for service of a Book of Evidence. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe trials were adjourned at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court on Monday. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtThe prosecution said it was not in a position to proceed, citing budget overruns as a reason for the delay. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtEach trial would last three weeks. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtThe defence made applications to strike out the cases, and the defence had not received disclosure. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtThe judge said he could not hear the trials in April and was minded to seek a second judge for the Michaelmas term. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtThe cases were listed for mention on April 14. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtThe prosecution said it was not in a position to proceed with the trials. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe judge said he would consider striking out the cases against all three accused if the State did not complete disclosure within a reasonable time. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe prosecution said it was seeking an adjournment, as each case would take at least three weeks to hear. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe cases were adjourned to April 14 for mention. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtAll three accused gardaí were remanded on continuing bail. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe DPP informed the solicitors representing the three gardaí that all charges would be formally dropped at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court on 25 March 2026. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtIn September 2024 the three appeared before Limerick District Court charged with a total of 33 counts of perverting the course of public justice on dates between 2017 and 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtDefence barristers John Byrne and James B Dwyer applied to have the cases struck out, noting the clients had been under investigation since 2019, on suspension since 2020, and still waiting for full disclosure of evidence. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP told the solicitors that all charges would be formally dropped at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court on March 25. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtOn 2 March 2026 the court was told the prosecutions faced lengthy delays due to resource drain and budgetary overruns. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtThe State entered a nolle prosequi before the court. (rte.ie)
  • courtCharges against three gardaí were dropped at Limerick Circuit Court. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtThe prosecution entered a nolle prosequi for all three accused, which the judge accepted. (limerickleader.ie)
  • courtProsecutor Carl Hanahoe withdrew all charges by entering a nolle prosequi at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtProsecuting barrister Carl Hanahoe withdrew all charges at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court by entering a nolle prosequi. (limerickpost.ie)
  • courtIn March the three men were told the case against them was being withdrawn. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe three men launched High Court proceedings against the Garda Commissioner, the Minister for Justice and the State. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherThe three accused made no reply to the charges. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe three accused were each represented by Liz Hughes of Hughes Murphy Solicitors, Dublin. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherNone of the three accused spoke at the hearing and the details of their cases were not heard. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe evidential details of the prosecution’s case have not yet been disclosed in court. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherThe three accused did not reply to any of the charges. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherThe three gardaí were remanded on continuing bail. (limerickleader.ie)
  • otherThe three gardaí have been on suspension for the past six years. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe investigation focused on alleged unlawful garda interference in the prosecution of fixed charge penalty notices for pending or potential motoring offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherAll three gardaí deny all of the charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe three gardaí deny all the charges. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherThe three gardaí had been on suspension since 2020. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherThe three gardaí have been suspended from the force since 2020. (rte.ie)
  • otherThe Garda Representative Association has called for an independent public enquiry into the Limerick garda cases. (rte.ie)
  • otherA nolle prosequi is a formal declaration that stops criminal proceedings, so the case will no longer be prosecuted. (limerickleader.ie)
  • otherAll three gardaí had been suspended from duty since 2020. (limerickleader.ie)
  • otherThe gardaí's solicitor said the nolle prosequi is to be welcomed. (limerickleader.ie)
  • otherThe solicitor said she expects a public inquiry to address the matter. (limerickleader.ie)
  • otherThe three were suspended from the Limerick Garda Divisional Roads Policing Unit in 2019. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherTwo of the gardaí were told their suspensions, imposed six years earlier, had been lifted. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherGarda Peter O’Donnell retired from the force about a month before the withdrawal. (limerickpost.ie)
  • otherThey all pleaded not guilty and had been suspended since 2020 after an NBCI probe began. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherThe solicitor says the men have suffered a significant toll on their health and families, and the proceedings aim to recover compensation for that damage. (thejournal.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 1 Jul2026
    Limerick gardaí cleared of road traffic offences launch legal proceedings to recover compensation

    Reports that the High Court proceedings were launched and that the case against the three men was withdrawn in March. It does not give a date for the alleged ticket terminations.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  2. 26 Mar2026
    Charges dropped against three Limerick Gardaí as six-year suspensions lifted

    Reports that the State withdrew all 33 charges against three gardaí by nolle prosequi, that two of them had their suspensions lifted, and that one has retired. Also describes earlier acquittals of four other accused gardaí and a retired superintendent in a separate January trial, which are not included as people.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  3. 25 Mar2026
    ‘Six years of hell’: Charges of perverting course of justice dropped against traffic gardaí

    Reports the State's withdrawal of all 33 charges by nolle prosequi, and includes comments from the defence solicitor and the Garda Representative Association calling for a public inquiry into the GNBCI investigation.

    accused, male, irish (judged from name)accused, Paul Baynham, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, male, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  4. 25 Mar2026
    Prosecution against three Limerick gardaí will not go ahead

    Reports that the prosecution of three gardaí was ended by a nolle prosequi at Limerick Circuit Court on 25 March 2026. The article gives the charges, the 2017 to 2019 period, the GNBCI investigation, and the solicitor's response.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 37, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  5. 25 Mar2026
    Charges against three Limerick gardaí dropped

    Reports that the State entered a nolle prosequi and the charges against three gardaí were formally dropped at Limerick Circuit Court on 25 March 2026. Also reports the GRA's call for an independent public enquiry.

    accused, Niall Deegan, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deeganaccused, Peter O'Donnell, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynham
  6. 19 Mar2026
    Charges to be dropped against three gardai accused of interfering in road traffic prosecution

    Reports the DPP's decision to drop all 33 counts against three gardaí (Peter O'Donnell, Paul Baynham, Niall Deegan), the prosecution having faced delays and budgetary problems. No matching case in the list.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 37, namedPaul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  7. 18 Mar2026
    Charges to be dropped against three road traffic gardaí after six-year investigation

    Reports the DPP's decision on 18 March 2026 to drop all charges, with details of the six-year GNBCI investigation, the March 2 court hearing where the prosecution cited budgetary overruns and the defence sought strike-out, and the context of recent acquittals of a retired superintendent and four serving gardaí on similar charges.

    accused, 52, male, irish (judged from name)accused, Paul Baynham, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  8. 2 Mar2026
    Trials of three gardai delayed due to budget and resources overruns

    First report of this matter in the list. Covers the court hearing where the three trials were delayed, the number of charges, the dates of the alleged offences and the adjournment to April 14.

    accused, Niall Deegan, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deeganaccused, Peter O'Donnell, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 37, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynham
  9. 2 Mar2026
    Applications made to strike out cases against three Limerick gardai in court

    First report of this case. Adds the charge details (33 charges, 2017 to 2019), the GNBCI investigation, the adjournment at Limerick Circuit Criminal Court, the prosecution's reason for delay, the strike-out applications, the mention date and the continuing bail.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 37, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  10. 24 Oct2024
    Limerick gardaí accused of perverting course of justice

    Adds the 24 October 2024 District Court appearance: O'Donnell and Deegan were returned for trial and remanded on continuing bail, while Baynham, who was on bail, was not present and his matter was adjourned to the following week for service of a Book of Evidence.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Niall Deegan, 49, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deeganaccused, Paul Baynham, 35, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynham
  11. 24 Oct2024
    Limerick-based Gardaí returned for trial in connection with ‘squaring away’ fixed charge notices probe

    Reports the 24 October 2024 return for trial of O’Donnell and Deegan, the 33-charge breakdown by accused, the alibi warning and bail terms, and that Baynham was absent and his matter adjourned. Gives Baynham’s age as 35, where the existing case says 37.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Niall Deegan, 49, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deeganaccused, Paul Baynham, 35, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynham
  12. 12 Sep2024
    Three gardaí appear in court charged with ‘squaring away’ fixed charge notices

    First report of the court appearance. Names the three accused, their ages, the 33 counts and their individual counts, the arrest location and timing, the DPP direction for trial on indictment, and the remand dates.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 35, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 49, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  13. 12 Sep2024
    Gardai in court charged in connection with probe over Fixed Charge Notices

    First report of this case. It names the three accused, their ages, the number of counts against each, the GNBCI investigation, the DPP direction for trial on indictment, and the remand to Limerick District Court on 24 October.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 35, named, non-irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 49, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  14. 12 Sep2024
    Three Gardaí charged with intending to pervert the course of justice following arrest in ‘squares case’

    Reports the initial District Court appearance and charging of the three gardaí on 12 September 2024, with 33 counts between them, arrests made the previous Tuesday, and remand on continuing bail to 24 October for service of the Books of Evidence.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 35, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 49, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan
  15. 12 Sep2024
    Three gardaí charged with perverting course of justice

    Reports the initial charging and first court appearance of the three gardaí in Limerick District Court, with the counts per accused (14, ten and nine) and the arrest and custody details.

    accused, Peter O'Donnell, 51, named, irish (judged from name)Peter O'Donnellaccused, Paul Baynham, 35, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Baynhamaccused, Niall Deegan, 49, named, irish (judged from name)Niall Deegan