Cavan solicitor struck off for misappropriation of client funds
Ronan O'Brien, a solicitor who practised on Church Street, Cavan, was struck off the roll of solicitors by the High Court in June 2026 after a disciplinary tribunal found he had misappropriated client funds involving fraud and dishonesty. The complaint, brought by two clients, concerned over €300,000 held from the sale of a property in Virginia, Co Cavan, with an unauthorised payment of €239,500 transferred to another solicitor firm in November 2022 and an overall deficit of €245,650 identified by January 2024. The Law Society began its investigation in February 2024, and O'Brien was suspended from practice by the High Court in 2024. The tribunal found the misappropriated funds were used to partly fund his acquisition of a property in Cavan town, and O'Brien was ordered to pay approximately €14,000 in costs.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court17 May
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Over €300,000 was held by the firm from the sale of a property in Virginia, Co Cavan, and an unauthorised payment of €239,500 was transferred to another solicitor firm in November 2022.
- An overall apparent deficit of €245,650 in client funds was found as of January 31, 2024, including a €105,000 transfer that appeared on the client ledger as a payment to the client.
- Where
- The firm, Ronan O'Brien & Co Solicitors, had a practice on Church Street, Cavan.
- When
- The Law Society began its investigation in February 2024 after being notified of a complaint by two clients.
- Cause
- The misappropriated funds were used to partly fund O'Brien's acquisition of a property in Cavan town and another premises on behalf of a separate client.
- Investigation
- The Law Society committee found the solicitor had been dishonest in his practice, and the tribunal found the misconduct involved fraud and dishonesty that brought the profession into disrepute.
- In court
- Mr Justice David Barniville made orders enabling the Law Society to take control of the firm's client accounts, books and records, and adopted the sanctions recommended by the tribunal.
- Sentence
- O'Brien was struck off the roll of solicitors by the High Court in June 2026 and ordered to pay approximately €14,000 in costs.
- Other details
- O'Brien was previously suspended from practice in 2024 and consented to the suspension order.
- O'Brien made very serious admissions of dishonesty and admitted all of the committee's findings, but the judge was not satisfied he had given a full account of the client funds.
20 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe complaint concerned over €300,000 held by the firm from the sale of a property in Virginia, Co Cavan. (irishtimes.com)
- whatAn apparently unauthorised payment of €239,500 was transferred from the client account to another solicitor firm in November 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe investigating accountant found an overall apparent deficit of €245,650 in client funds as of January 31st, 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- whatA €105,000 transfer from a client account to the firm's office account appeared on the client ledger as a payment to the client. (irishtimes.com)
- whatRonan O'Brien was struck off the roll of solicitors by the High Court. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe tribunal found the misconduct involved fraud and dishonesty and brought the profession into disrepute. (irishtimes.com)
- whatOther misconduct included unauthorised payments, deficits in client ledgers, and failure to maintain proper books of account. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe firm had a practice on Church Street, Cavan. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe Law Society began its investigation in February after being notified of the complaint. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe misappropriated funds were used to partly fund his acquisition of a property in Cavan town and another premises in the town on behalf of a separate client. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe Law Society committee found the solicitor had been dishonest in his practice. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMr Justice David Barniville made orders enabling the Law Society to take control of the firm's client accounts, books and records. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge said the Law Society needed control to ensure client money is protected. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge adopted the sanctions recommended by the tribunal and sought by the Law Society. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe solicitor was suspended from practising. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe solicitor consented to the suspension order. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe solicitor said he paid €239,500 to Start Mortgages from office account money he described as personal funds. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe solicitor made very serious admissions, effectively of dishonesty, and admits all of the committee's findings. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe judge was not satisfied the solicitor had given a full account of the client funds. (irishtimes.com)
- otherO'Brien was previously suspended from practice in 2024. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 18 Jun2026Cavan solicitor struck off by High Court after misappropriating client funds
Reports the High Court judgment striking off Ronan O'Brien, details of the tribunal findings including €239,500 misappropriated, the nature of the misconduct, and the costs ordered.
- 17 May2024Suspended solicitor’s explanation over client account deficit makes situation ‘even worse’, says High Court president
Reports High Court orders giving the Law Society control of the firm's accounts and records, the suspension of solicitor Ronan O’Brien, a deficit of €245,650 in client funds, and the judge's doubts about his explanations. No criminal charge is mentioned.
suspect, Ronan O'Brien, named, irish (judged from name)Ronan O'Brienvictim