Catriona Carey Companies Act case adjourned to March 28
Catriona Carey, a 46-year-old businesswoman and former Ireland international hockey player, met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on 4 February, in a case arising from a joint Garda and Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation. In the week before 14 February she was charged under the Companies Act with 46 offences from 2019 to 2022, which she is accused of committing, and was sent forward for trial on money-laundering charges. At Dublin District Court on 14 February, she was excused from attending and prosecutors were granted six weeks to complete the book of evidence. The case was adjourned until 28 March, with bail set at €500 and no plea yet indicated.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court14 Feb
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Catriona Carey is a 46-year-old businesswoman and former Ireland international hockey player.
- Where
- She has an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow.
- When
- She met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on 4 February.
- Investigation
- The case stems from a joint Garda and Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation.
- Charges
- She was charged under the Companies Act with 46 offences from the period 2019 to 2022.
- She is accused of failing to provide information to the Companies Registration Office, failing to file financial returns, and failing to keep records or notify the office of a change of address.
- She was sent forward for trial on money-laundering charges the week before 14 February.
- In court
- The DPP decided she will face trial on indictment in the Circuit Court.
- She was excused from attending the Dublin District Court hearing on 14 February.
- The DPP was granted six weeks to complete the book of evidence, and one source names Judge Stephanie Coggans as adjourning the case until 28 March.
- She has yet to indicate a plea and has been granted legal aid.
- Her bail was set at €500 with conditions including residing at her current address and giving 21 days' notice before leaving the jurisdiction.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatCatriona Carey is a former Ireland international hockey player. (irishtimes.com)
- whereShe has an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow. (irishtimes.com)
- whenShe met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on 4 February. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe case stems from a joint Garda-CEA investigation. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe was charged under the Companies Act with 46 offences from 2019 to 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the Companies Registration Office. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe is accused of failing to file financial returns to the office. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe is accused of failing to keep records or notify the office of a change of address. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP decided she would face trial on indictment in the Circuit Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Stephanie Coggans adjourned the case until 28 March. (irishtimes.com)
- courtShe has yet to indicate a plea and has been granted legal aid. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHer bail was set at €500 with conditions including residing at her current address and giving 21 days' notice before leaving the jurisdiction. (irishtimes.com)
- courtShe was sent forward for trial on money-laundering charges the previous week. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 14 Feb2025Catriona Carey trial: DPP granted six weeks to complete book of evidence
DPP granted six-week adjournment until 28 March 2025 to complete book of evidence; Carey excused from attending; bail conditions set at €500; she has yet to indicate a plea; separately sent forward for trial on money-laundering charges the previous week.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Carey