Catriona Carey appears in court on money laundering charges
Catriona Carey (46) is charged with three offences contrary to section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010, which are alleged to have occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021 and relate to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. Co-accused John Steadmond (48) and Paddy Maher (57) are each charged with 17 related charges. Carey appeared before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, as reported on 20 March 2025, when her barrister Kevin Roche asked for an arraignment date. Judge Sarah Berkeley listed the case for arraignment on 30 June 2025, the same date set for Steadmond and Maher.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court20 Mar
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Catriona Carey is charged with three offences contrary to section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.
- In each case it is alleged that she handled, acquired or possessed proceeds of criminal conduct.
- All three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA.
- Other charges relate to inducing people to pay deposits by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders.
- When
- The offences are said to have occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021.
- Other details
- Carey's address is given as Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow.
- Charges
- John Steadmond (48), of Gorey, Co Wexford, is charged with 17 related charges, including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified.
- Paddy Maher (57), of Glenmalure, Co Wicklow, is charged with 17 related charges.
- In court
- Carey appeared before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on money laundering charges, as reported on 20 March 2025.
- Her barrister, Kevin Roche, asked for an arraignment date.
- Judge Sarah Berkeley listed the case for 30 June 2025 for arraignment.
- Steadmond and Maher have the same arraignment date as Carey.
11 statements extracted from the articles
- whatShe is charged with three offences contrary to section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
- whatIn each case she is alleged to have engaged in handling, acquiring or possessing proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishtimes.com)
- whatAll three counts relate to funds in a bank account in the name of Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd at Wise Europe SA. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe other charges relate to inducing people to pay deposits by falsely representing that Careysfort Asset Estates Ltd could secure finance for distressed mortgage holders. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe offences are said to have occurred in 2019, 2020 and 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJohn Steadmond, 48, of Gorey, Co Wexford, is charged with 17 related charges including unlawfully acting as solicitors when not qualified. (irishtimes.com)
- chargePaddy Maher, 57, of Glenmalure, Co Wicklow, is charged with 17 related charges. (irishtimes.com)
- courtCatriona Carey appeared before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on money laundering charges. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHer barrister Kevin Roche asked for an arraignment date. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge listed the case for 30 June for arraignment. (irishtimes.com)
- courtSteadmond and Maher received the same arraignment date as Carey. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 20 Mar2025Catriona Carey appears in court on money laundering charges
First report of Catriona Carey's court appearance; arraignment date set for 30 June 2025. Co-accused John Steadmond and Paddy Maher also before the court on 17 related charges each.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, John Steadmond, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmondaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher