Catriona and Jack Carey sent forward for trial on company law charges
Catriona Carey, 46, a former Ireland international hockey player, her brother Jack Carey, a hurley maker, and Paddy Maher face 51 charges under the Companies Act for alleged offences from 2019 to 2022, following a Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation. Catriona Carey was charged in February after meeting gardaí in Dublin on 4 February, and the three appeared before Judge Shalom Binchy at Dublin District Court. The case was reported on 25 April 2025 as sent forward for trial on indictment to the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. The latest development is that the case is listed for mention on 23 May 2025, and no pleas have yet been indicated.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court25 Apr
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Catriona Carey is a former Ireland international hockey player and former financial advisor, described as a businesswoman.
- Jack Carey, her brother, is a hurley maker.
- Paddy Maher is a third co-accused, listed as being from the Glenmalure Gun Club in Co Wicklow.
- Where
- Catriona Carey is from Kilkenny and has an address at Rochford Manor, Graiguecullen, Co Carlow.
- Jack Carey is from Kilkenny and lives in Graiguecullen, Co Carlow.
- When
- The alleged offences took place between 2019 and 2022.
- Catriona Carey met gardaí in Dublin by arrangement on 4 February to be charged.
- Investigation
- The charges follow an investigation by the Corporate Enforcement Authority.
- Charges
- Catriona Carey was accused of failing to provide information to the Companies Registration Office, keep records, notify a change of address, or file financial returns.
- Jack Carey is accused of providing false information and failing to provide company returns to the CRO or give notice of a change of address.
- Of the 51 charges, 31 relate to Catriona Carey, 8 to Jack Carey and 12 to Paddy Maher.
- In court
- The DPP authorised trial on indictment, and the three accused appeared before Judge Shalom Binchy at Dublin District Court, where they were returned for trial to the next sitting of Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.
- The three spoke only to confirm signatures on their bail bonds, have not yet indicated pleas, and were granted legal aid.
- Other details
- The case will be listed for mention on 23 May, and the accused were warned to notify prosecutors if they intend to rely on alibis.
- Connected charges are to be added to the indictment later, and a fourth man is due back in court at a later date accused of connected offences.
20 statements extracted from the articles
- whatCatriona Carey is a former Ireland international hockey player and former financial advisor (irishtimes.com)
- whatJack Carey is a hurley maker (irishtimes.com)
- whereCatriona Carey is from Kilkenny but has an address at Rochford Manor, Graigecullen, Co Carlow (irishtimes.com)
- whereJack Carey is from Kilkenny and resides in Graiguecullen, Co Carlow (irishtimes.com)
- wherePaddy Maher is from the Glenmalure Gun Club in Co Wicklow (irishtimes.com)
- whenCatriona Carey met gardaí in Dublin on 4 February to be charged (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe charges follow a Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation (irishtimes.com)
- chargeCatriona Carey was charged in February with offences under the Companies Act from 2019 to 2022 (irishtimes.com)
- chargeCatriona Carey was accused of failing to provide information to the CRO, to keep records or notify of a change of address, or to file financial returns (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJack Carey is accused of providing false information and failing to provide company returns to the CRO or giving notice of a change of address (irishtimes.com)
- chargeOut of 51 charges, 31 pertained to Catriona Carey, 8 to Jack Carey, and 12 to Paddy Maher (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP authorised trial on indictment (irishtimes.com)
- courtThey appeared before Judge Shalom Binchy at Dublin District Court on Friday (irishtimes.com)
- courtThey were returned for trial to the next sitting of Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case will be listed for mention on 23 May (irishtimes.com)
- otherThey were warned to notify prosecutors if they intended to rely on alibis (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe trio spoke only to confirm signatures on their bail bonds and have yet to indicate pleas (irishtimes.com)
- otherConnected charges are to be added to the indictment later (irishtimes.com)
- otherLegal aid was granted (irishtimes.com)
- otherA fourth man is due back in court at a later date accused of connected offences (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 25 Apr2025Catriona Carey and brother Jack Carey sent forward for trial on company law charges
Reports the sending forward for trial on indictment at Dublin District Court, with 51 charges split among the three accused, and the case listed for mention at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court on 23 May 2025.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Jack Carey, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jack Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maher