Bundoran man jailed for 20 months over assault causing harm, Donegal
On 2 July 2023 a 19-year-old woman was punched in an unprovoked attack at Bundoran Community Library, Station Road, Bundoran, County Donegal. Calvin McCormack, 28, was identified by Gardaí from CCTV and charged with assault causing harm under Section 3 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997. He pleaded guilty at Letterkenny Circuit Court, where the judge reduced his sentence to two years and eight months and suspended the last 12 months. On 22 February 2026 he was jailed for 20 months, the latest development in the case.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced22 Feb
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- A 19-year-old woman was punched in the face in an unprovoked attack.
- Where
- The assault happened at Bundoran Community Library, Station Road, Bundoran, County Donegal.
- When
- The attack happened on 2 July 2023.
- Cause
- The accused said he had taken cocaine for the first time before the attack.
- Investigation
- Gardaí reviewed CCTV from the town centre and outside the library and identified McCormack.
- Charges
- McCormack, 28, was charged with assault causing harm under Section 3 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997.
- In court
- McCormack appeared at Letterkenny Circuit Court and pleaded guilty.
- Sentence
- The judge reduced the sentence to two years and eight months and suspended the last 12 months, giving a total of 20 months in jail.
- Other details
- The woman's jaw was fractured in two places and she needed a permanent plate and screw in her right jaw.
- The judge placed the injuries at the upper end of the scale for such offences.
- McCormack had one previous conviction, for assault causing harm in 2019.
- The judge gave credit for the early guilty plea, genuine remorse and a €4,500 compensation offer.
- The woman refused the €4,500 compensation offer, so it was returned to McCormack's mother.
15 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe charge says the assault happened at Bundoran Community Library, Station Road, Bundoran. (donegallive.ie)
- whenThe attack happened on 2 July 2023. (donegallive.ie)
- causeThe attack was unprovoked, and the accused said he had taken cocaine for the first time before it. (donegallive.ie)
- investigationGardaí reviewed CCTV from the town centre and outside the library, and identified McCormack. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeMcCormack was charged with assault causing harm to the victim under Section 3 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997. (donegallive.ie)
- courtMcCormack appeared at Letterkenny Circuit Court and pleaded guilty. (donegallive.ie)
- sentenceThe judge reduced the sentence to two years and eight months before suspending the last 12 months. (donegallive.ie)
- sentenceMcCormack was jailed for 20 months in total. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe victim was 19 at the time of the attack. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe victim had a permanent plate and screw inserted into her right jaw. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe victim's jaw was fractured in two places. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe judge placed the injuries at the upper end of the scale for such offences. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe accused had one previous conviction, for assault causing harm in 2019. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe judge gave credit for the early guilty plea, genuine remorse and a €4,500 compensation offer. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe €4,500 compensation offer was returned to McCormack's mother because the victim refused it. (donegallive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 22 Feb2026Bundoran man jailed after cocaine-fuelled punch left woman needing jaw plate
Court report of the sentencing at Letterkenny Circuit Court. Gives the plea, the victim's injuries, the mitigation and the final 20-month sentence with 12 months suspended.
victim, Hollie Hickman, 19, female, irish (judged from name)Hollie Hickmanconvicted, Calvin McCormack, 28, male, named, irish (judged from name)Calvin McCormack