Brothers sent forward for trial over alleged Naas theft and assault
Brothers Martin Lawrence, 22, and John Lawrence, 28, are alleged to have been involved in an incident at Costcutters on Monread Avenue in Naas, County Kildare, on 24 December 2019. Gardaí claimed Martin Lawrence left without paying for a voucher, struggled with a shop assistant and made a threat, and John Lawrence faces an allegation of assault. On Thursday 4 May, both brothers appeared at Naas Courthouse, where a book of evidence was served on each of them, and both are contesting the allegations. Judge Desmond Zaidan then sent the case forward to the present sittings of Naas Circuit Criminal Court.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court9 May
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Martin Lawrence, 22, faces an allegation of theft, and John Lawrence, 28, faces an allegation of assault.
- Where
- The alleged incident took place at Costcutters on Monread Avenue in Naas, County Kildare.
- When
- The alleged incident took place on 24 December 2019.
- Investigation
- Gardaí claimed that Martin Lawrence left the shop without paying for a voucher.
- Cause
- There was reportedly a struggle with a shop assistant.
- Weapon
- Martin Lawrence allegedly held a hatchet by his side in a menacing manner.
- Other details
- Martin Lawrence allegedly removed his trouser belt and made a threat.
- John Lawrence allegedly entered the premises and was involved in an assault on a shop assistant.
- In court
- Both brothers appeared at Naas Courthouse on Thursday 4 May; one report refers to Naas District Court instead.
- A book of evidence was served on both brothers.
- Both brothers are contesting the allegations against them.
- Judge Desmond Zaidan sent the case forward to the present sittings of Naas Circuit Criminal Court, meaning both brothers were sent forward for trial.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe alleged incident took place at Costcutters on Monread Avenue in Naas. (kildarenow.com)
- whenThe alleged incident took place on 24 December 2019. (kildarenow.com)
- causeThere was reportedly a struggle with a shop assistant. (kildarenow.com)
- weaponMartin Lawrence allegedly held a hatchet by his side in a menacing manner. (kildarenow.com)
- investigationGardaí claimed Martin Lawrence left without paying for a voucher. (kildarenow.com)
- chargeMartin Lawrence faces an allegation of theft. (kildarenow.com)
- chargeJohn Lawrence faces an allegation of assault. (kildarenow.com)
- courtBoth brothers appeared at Naas Courthouse on Thursday, May 4. (kildarenow.com)
- courtA book of evidence was served on both brothers. (kildarenow.com)
- courtJudge Desmond Zaidan sent the case forward to the present sittings of Naas Circuit Criminal Court. (kildarenow.com)
- courtBoth brothers are contesting the allegations against them. (kildarenow.com)
- otherMartin Lawrence allegedly removed his trousers belt and made a threat. (kildarenow.com)
- otherJohn Lawrence allegedly entered the premises and was involved in an assault on a shop assistant. (kildarenow.com)
The reporting
newest first- 9 May2023Brothers sent forward for trial over alleged Naas, County Kildare, offence
Reports that books of evidence were served on the brothers at Naas District Court, that they were sent forward for trial, and that both are contesting the allegations.
accused, Martin Lawrence, 22, named, irish (judged from name)Martin Lawrenceaccused, John Lawrence, 28, named, irish (judged from name)John Lawrence