Case No. 21195Theft; assault · Co. Kildare · 24 Dec 2019

Brothers sent for trial over Naas shop theft and assault

Two brothers, John Lawrence, 29, and Martin Lawrence, 23, were sent for trial at Naas Circuit Criminal Court in May 2023 over an alleged incident at Costcutters on Monread Avenue, Naas, on 24 December 2019, though one report gives the date as 24 December 2021. Gardaí allege that Martin Lawrence left the store without paying for a €50 Pinergy voucher, a struggle with a shop assistant followed in which the employee sustained a punch to the face, and the brothers then retrieved a hatchet from a vehicle to intimidate the shop owner. Martin Lawrence faces an allegation of theft and John Lawrence an allegation of assault; both are contesting the charges. A book of evidence was served on both at Naas District Court on 4 May 2023, and Judge Desmond Zaidan sent the case forward to the present sittings of Naas Circuit Criminal Court.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court5 Jan
    2 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • A man entered the store at 3.10, asked for a €50 Pinergy voucher, and left without paying, after which a physical struggle with a shop assistant left the employee with a punch to the face.
  • The suspects ran to a vehicle, retrieved a hatchet, and intimidated the shop owner; Martin Lawrence allegedly held the hatchet by his side in a menacing manner and removed his trousers belt to make a threat.
Where
The alleged incident took place at Costcutters on Monread Avenue, Naas, County Kildare.
When
The incident is reported as occurring on 24 December 2019, though one report gives the date as 24 December 2021.
Weapon
A hatchet was allegedly retrieved from a vehicle.
Charges
Martin Lawrence, a man aged 23 (one report says 22), faces an allegation of theft; John Lawrence, a man aged 29 (one report says 28), faces an allegation of assault.
In court
  • At a January 2023 hearing, solicitor Tim Kennelly told the court the allegations would be denied, and Judge Desmond Zaidan adjourned the matter to 27 April for preparation of a book of evidence.
  • Both brothers appeared at Naas Courthouse on 4 May 2023, a book of evidence was served, and Judge Desmond Zaidan sent the case forward to the present sittings of Naas Circuit Criminal Court.
Other details
Both brothers are contesting the allegations against them.
21 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatJohn Lawrence, 29, has an address at Apartment 271 Clayton Hotel, Liffey Valley, Dublin 22 (kildarenow.com)
  • whatMartin Lawrence, 23, has an address at 34 Foxborough Court, Lucan (kildarenow.com)
  • whatA man entered the store at 3.10 and asked for a Pinergy voucher worth €50, then left without paying (kildarenow.com)
  • whatA physical struggle ensued and the shop employee sustained a punch to the face (kildarenow.com)
  • whatThe suspects ran to a vehicle, got a hatchet and intimidated the shop owner (kildarenow.com)
  • whereThe alleged incident took place at Costcutters on Monread Avenue in Naas. (kildarenow.com)
  • whenThe incident occurred on 24 December 2021 at Costcutters, Monread Avenue, Naas (kildarenow.com)
  • whenThe alleged incident took place on 24 December 2019. (kildarenow.com)
  • causeThere was reportedly a struggle with a shop assistant. (kildarenow.com)
  • weaponMartin Lawrence allegedly held a hatchet by his side in a menacing manner. (kildarenow.com)
  • investigationGardaí claimed Martin Lawrence left without paying for a voucher. (kildarenow.com)
  • chargeMartin Lawrence faces an allegation of theft. (kildarenow.com)
  • chargeJohn Lawrence faces an allegation of assault. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtJudge Desmond Zaidan adjourned the matter to 27 April for preparation of a book of evidence (kildarenow.com)
  • courtSolicitor Tim Kennelly told a previous hearing that the allegation will be denied (kildarenow.com)
  • courtBoth brothers appeared at Naas Courthouse on Thursday, May 4. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtA book of evidence was served on both brothers. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtJudge Desmond Zaidan sent the case forward to the present sittings of Naas Circuit Criminal Court. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtBoth brothers are contesting the allegations against them. (kildarenow.com)
  • otherMartin Lawrence allegedly removed his trousers belt and made a threat. (kildarenow.com)
  • otherJohn Lawrence allegedly entered the premises and was involved in an assault on a shop assistant. (kildarenow.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 9 May2023
    Brothers sent forward for trial over alleged Naas, County Kildare, offence

    Reports that books of evidence were served on the brothers at Naas District Court, that they were sent forward for trial, and that both are contesting the allegations.

    accused, Martin Lawrence, 22, named, irish (judged from name)Martin Lawrenceaccused, John Lawrence, 28, named, irish (judged from name)John Lawrence
  2. 5 Jan2023
    KILDARE: Hatchet produced during voucher theft at Naas shop - claim

    Adds detail that a hatchet was produced from a vehicle to intimidate the shop owner, the voucher was a €50 Pinergy electricity voucher, the man entered at 3.10, the shop employee sustained a punch to the face, and the case was adjourned to 27 April for preparation of a book of evidence.

    accused, John Lawrence, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Lawrenceaccused, Martin Lawrence, 23, male, named, irish (judged from name)Martin Lawrence