Bridgend farmer charged with firearms and drugs offences at Buncrana District Court
Gardaí searched the property of Ivan Peoples, a 46-year-old farmer from Carrowreagh, Bridgend, Co Donegal, on 19 September 2024. Peoples was charged at Buncrana District Court with fourteen weapons offences and one cannabis offence, sixteen charges in total. The DPP consented to the case being sent to the Circuit Court for trial later this year, and the defence said there will be no signed guilty plea. Peoples was released on continuing bail with strict conditions, and the case was adjourned to 14 May for service of the Book of Evidence, the latest development reported.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court12 Feb
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Ivan Peoples, a 46-year-old farmer, was charged with firearms and drugs offences.
- Where
- Peoples is from Carrowreagh, Bridgend, Co Donegal.
- When
- Gardaí searched Peoples' property at Carrowreagh on 19 September 2024.
- Investigation
- The search of Peoples' property at Carrowreagh is dated to 19 September 2024.
- Charges
- Peoples was charged with fourteen weapons offences at Buncrana District Court.
- He is charged with possession of cannabis worth more than €13,000 for sale or supply.
- He now faces a total of sixteen charges.
- Weapon
- He is charged with possession of a submachine gun in circumstances giving rise to a reasonable inference that he did not have it for a lawful purpose.
- He is charged with unlawful possession of three semi-automatic rifles, and with possession of a shotgun and shotgun cartridges without an authorised firearms certificate.
- He faces ammunition charges, including unlawful possession of a silencer and an illegal cache of ammunition, including magazines for an AK47.
- In court
- The DPP has consented to the case being sent to the Circuit Court for trial later this year.
- The defence solicitor said there will not be a signed guilty plea in the matter.
- Separate road traffic matters against Peoples were adjourned to 9 April.
- The case was adjourned to 14 May for service of the Book of Evidence.
- Other details
- Peoples was released on continuing bail and must meet strict conditions.
- Legal Aid was granted to his solicitor given the gravity of the charges.
15 statements extracted from the articles
- whereIvan Peoples is from Carrowreagh, Bridgend, Co Donegal. (donegallive.ie)
- investigationGardaí searched Ivan Peoples' property at Carrowreagh, Bridgend, on 19 September 2024. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeIvan Peoples was charged with fourteen weapons offences at Buncrana District Court. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with possession of a submachine gun in circumstances giving rise to a reasonable inference that he did not have it for a lawful purpose. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe is accused of unlawful possession of three semi-automatic rifles. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with possession of a shotgun and shotgun cartridges without an authorised firearms certificate. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe faces ammunition charges, including unlawful possession of a silencer. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with possession of cannabis worth more than €13,000 for sale or supply. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe now faces a total of sixteen charges. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe DPP has consented to the case being sent forward to the Circuit Court for trial later this year. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe defence solicitor said there will not be a signed guilty plea in the matter. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until May 14 for service of the Book of Evidence. (donegallive.ie)
- otherIvan Peoples was released on continuing bail and must meet strict conditions. (donegallive.ie)
- otherLegal Aid was granted to his solicitor given the gravity of the charges. (donegallive.ie)
- otherSeparate road traffic matters against him were adjourned to April 9. (donegallive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 12 Feb2026Farmer charged with possession of submachine gun and three semi-automatic rifles
Reports the court appearance and details of the charges against Ivan Peoples, including the weapons, ammunition and cannabis charges, the DPP's consent to sending the case to the Circuit Court, the adjournment, and bail conditions. The search of his property is dated to 19 September 2024.
accused, Ivan Peoples, 46, male, named, irish (judged from name)Ivan Peoples