Boots pleads guilty over misleading Black Friday prices
Boots Ireland advertised sale prices on Oral-B electric toothbrushes and a Dior fragrance during the 2023/24 winter sales, including Black Friday on 17 November 2023, that did not match the lowest price of the previous 30 days. The Competition and Consumer Protection Commission investigated and prosecuted the company under EU pricing rules. On 26 May 2025 Boots Ireland pleaded guilty at Dublin District Court to one sample count, and the other two summonses were withdrawn. Judge Anthony Halpin adjourned the case to 26 June 2025, and sources differ on whether the probation act was applied after a €1,000 donation or depends on payments that include €4,624 in CCPC costs.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Convicted26 May
2 reports - Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Boots Ireland pleaded guilty to breaching consumer protection legislation on misleading sale prices, following a CCPC investigation.
- Summonses covered three products, and Boots pleaded guilty only to the one involving an Oral-B electric toothbrush, with the other two withdrawn.
- One Oral-B iO 10 toothbrush was advertised at €470, down from €999.99, but had been sold at €470 in the days before the sale.
- A second Oral-B toothbrush was advertised at €240, down from €599 (one source says €590.99), but had been priced at €228 in the 30 days before the sale.
- A Dior fragrance was advertised at €104.55 (one source says €104), down from €123, but had been selling at €95 (one source says €94) before the sale.
- When
- The breaches occurred in the 2023/24 winter sales season, which covered Black Friday and Cyber Monday, with the Black Friday sale on 17 November 2023.
- Investigation
- CCPC authorised officer David Mulholland was tasked with overseeing traders' price reduction announcements for the 17 November 2023 Black Friday sale.
- Charges
- The prosecution was brought under EU pricing regulations amended in November 2022, which require any discount to be based on the lowest price in at least the previous 30 days.
- In court
- Boots Ireland was summonsed to Dublin District Court, where Judge Anthony Halpin heard the case on 26 May 2025.
- Lifestyle Sports (Ireland), DID Electrical Appliances and Rath-Wood Home and Garden World pleaded guilty to the same charges on 10 March and were spared convictions.
- Judge Halpin adjourned the case until 26 June 2025.
- Sentence
- Sources differ on the probation act: one says it was applied after a €1,000 donation to Little Flower Penny Dinners, while another says it would apply if Boots pays €4,624 in CCPC costs and €1,000 to the charity.
- Other details
- Boots' solicitor, Eoin Mac Aodha, blamed human error and said about 104,000 products were on promotion on Black Friday.
- Boots has since reviewed its internal processes and updated its guidance, protocols and governance, and a senior compliance officer attended from the UK.
- The maximum fine for a retailer found in breach is €5,000, and CCPC chairperson Brian McHugh said misleading sale discounts harm consumers and competition.
29 statements extracted from the articles
- whatBoots pleaded guilty to breaching consumer protection legislation over misleading prices during sales periods. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThree summonses were issued relating to three separate products, and Boots pleaded guilty in connection to one (an Oral B electric toothbrush). (irishtimes.com)
- whatOne toothbrush was advertised at €470 down from €999.99 but had been selling at €470 in the days before the sale. (irishtimes.com)
- whatAnother Oral B toothbrush advertised at €240 down from €599 had been priced at €228 in the 30 days before the sale. (irishtimes.com)
- whatA Dior Homme aftershave said to be on sale for €104.55 down from €123 was actually selling for €95 before the sale. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe case centred on electric toothbrushes and perfume. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatBoots pleaded guilty to a sample count, with two other charges withdrawn. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatData collected from Boots revealed three breaches of the pricing rules. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe first breach involved an Oral-B iO 10 electric toothbrush advertised at €470 with a prior price of €999.99, but it had been offered at €470 from November 11 to 14. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe second breach involved an Oral B electric toothbrush advertised at €240 with a prior price of €590.99, but it had been offered at €228 from November 9 to 14. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe third breach involved Dior Eau de Toilette sold at €104 with a prior price of €123, but it had been offered at €94 earlier that month. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe breach occurred in the 2023/24 winter sales season covering Black Friday and Cyber Monday. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe reduction announcement date was November 16, 2023, for the Black Friday sale on November 17, 2023. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationCCPC authorised officer David Mulholland was tasked with overseeing and managing traders' price reduction announcements for the November 17, 2023, Black Friday sale. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe case was prosecuted under a law compelling traders to base any discount on the lowest price in at least the previous 30 days. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe charge came under the European Union (Requirements to Indicate Product Prices) (Amendment) Regulations introduced in November 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe probation act was applied and Boots was spared a criminal conviction after making a €1,000 donation to the Penny Dinners charity. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Anthony Halpin presided over the hearing at Dublin District Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtBoots Ireland was summonsed to appear before Judge Anthony Halpin at Dublin District Court on 26 May 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Halpin adjourned the case until June 26, 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtLifestyle Sports (Ireland), DID Electrical Appliances, and Rath-Wood Home and Garden World pleaded guilty to the same charges on March 10 and were spared convictions. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceIf Boots pays €4,624 toward CCPC costs and €1,000 to the Little Flower Penny Dinners charity, the court would apply the Probation of Offender's Act. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe law requires traders to base any discount on the lowest price in at least the previous 30 days. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe maximum fine for a retailer found to have breached the law is €5,000. (irishtimes.com)
- otherBoots' solicitor Eoin Mac Aodha pleaded for leniency, citing human error and that about 104,000 products were on promotion on Black Friday. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherA full review of internal processes has since taken place, and guidance, protocols, and governance have been updated. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherA senior compliance officer from Boots travelled from the UK to attend the proceedings. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherIt was among the first batch of prosecutions under new sales pricing rules introduced in 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherBrian McHugh, Chairperson of the CCPC, stated that misleading sale discounts harm consumers and competition. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 26 May2025Boots Ireland guilty of misleading Black Friday discounts
Reports the guilty plea, details of the three pricing breaches, and the adjournment for probation.
accused, Boots Ireland, namedBoots Ireland - 26 May2025Boots ‘extremely remorseful’ after pleading guilty over misleading Black Friday prices
Reports Boots' guilty plea, the details of the three products with misleading discounts, the application of the probation act, and the €1,000 charity donation.