Case No. 10610Money laundering · Co. Laois · 15 Feb 2023

Alleged money mule appears in Portlaoise court over €8,801 laundering

Harry Techera (28), with an address at Rossvale, Portlaoise, is alleged to have acted as a money mule who laundered €8,801 at an address at Oakleaf Place, Portlaoise, on 15 February 2023, by allowing the money to be transferred through his Revolut account. The money was not recovered. The DPP directed that the case could remain in the district court, subject to a judge accepting jurisdiction. Reported on 4 March 2026, Judge Fay refused jurisdiction at Portlaoise District Court and adjourned the matter to 13 April 2026 for service of the book of evidence.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court5 Mar
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Harry Techera is alleged to be a money mule who allowed €8,801 to be transferred through his Revolut account.
Where
The alleged laundering took place at an address at Oakleaf Place, Portlaoise.
When
The alleged offence took place on 15 February 2023.
Other details
  • Harry Techera is 28 years old and has an address at Rossvale, Portlaoise.
  • A solicitor was granted legal aid for the case.
Investigation
The money was not recovered.
Charges
Harry Techera is accused of laundering €8,801.
In court
  • The DPP directed that the case could remain in the district court, subject to a judge accepting jurisdiction.
  • Judge Fay refused jurisdiction at Portlaoise District Court, which was reported on 4 March 2026.
  • The matter was adjourned to Portlaoise District Court on 13 April 2026 for service of the book of evidence.
10 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe accused is alleged to be a money mule who allowed €8,801 to be transferred through his Revolut account. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • whereThe alleged laundering took place at an address at Oakleaf Place, Portlaoise. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offence took place on 15 February 2023. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe money was not recovered. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • chargeThe accused is accused of laundering €8,801. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • courtThe DPP had directed that the case could remain in the district court, subject to a judge accepting jurisdiction. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • courtThe judge refused jurisdiction. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • courtThe matter was adjourned to Portlaoise District Court on 13 April for service of the book of evidence. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • otherA solicitor was granted legal aid for the case. (leinsterexpress.ie)
  • otherThe accused was in receipt of a jobseeker's allowance. (leinsterexpress.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 5 Mar2026
    Alleged ‘money mule’ appears in Laois court

    First report of the court appearance. The judge refused jurisdiction and adjourned the case to 13 April 2026 for service of the book of evidence.

    accused, Harry Techera, 28, male, named, irish (judged from name)Harry Techera