Alleged misappropriation at Limerick charity Bóthar under investigation
An anonymous whistleblower raised concerns about inappropriate travel expenses at Limerick-based charity Bóthar during the 2019 financial year, leading to allegations that former chief executives David Moloney and Peter Ireton misappropriated hundreds of thousands of euro in cash. Moloney resigned as CEO in February 2021 and Ireton died in his home in April 2021, after which Bóthar brought High Court proceedings in 2021. The identified alleged fraud totals €365,558 between 2018 and 2020, with combined legal and other costs bringing the total to €1.2 million. A Garda criminal investigation, civil litigation, and a separate Charity Regulator Authority inquiry remain ongoing.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court14 Feb
3 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- The identified alleged fraud at Bóthar charity totals €365,558 between 2018 and 2020, with combined legal and other costs bringing the total to €1.2 million.
- Alleged irregularities came to light during the 2019 financial year from an anonymous whistleblower concerning inappropriate travel expenses.
- David Moloney resigned as CEO of Bóthar in February 2021.
- Peter Ireton, the former chief executive, died in his home in April 2021.
- David Moloney said in the High Court that he and Peter Ireton misappropriated hundreds of thousands of euro in cash.
- When
- The alleged misappropriation first came to public attention in 2021 through High Court injunction proceedings against David Moloney.
- Investigation
- The actions of the former CEOs remain the subject of a Garda criminal investigation, civil litigation, and a separate Charity Regulator Authority inquiry.
- In court
- Bóthar brought High Court proceedings in 2021 regarding the alleged fund misappropriation.
- Other details
- Bóthar's board has been revamped with seven resignations since October 2020 and five new appointments in 2022.
- The charity recorded a loss of €149,028 in 2020 after income slumped by 25 per cent from €4.6 million to €3.44 million.
34 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe cost of identified alleged fraud and related legal and other costs totals €713,058 over a three year period (limerickleader.ie)
- whatThe cost of identified alleged fraud over 2020, 2019 and 2018 totals €365,558 (limerickleader.ie)
- whatLegal and other costs bill totals €347,500 incurred in 2020 (limerickleader.ie)
- whatThe cost of identified alleged fraud was €52,354 in 2020, €187,768 in 2019 and €125,436 in 2018 (limerickleader.ie)
- whatDavid Moloney resigned as CEO in February 2021 (limerickleader.ie)
- whatPeter Ireton died in his home in April 2021 (limerickleader.ie)
- whatThe charity recorded a loss of €149,028 in 2020 after income slumped by 25 per cent from €4.6 million to €3.44 million (limerickleader.ie)
- whatThe total financial impact of alleged fraud and legal charges cost Bóthar €713,058 over a three-year period. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatThe identified alleged fraud was calculated at €365,558 between 2018 and 2020. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatLegal and other costs incurred in 2020 amounted to €347,500. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatThe Board disposed of shares to fund legal and other costs. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatRemedial actions included reductions in staff, payroll costs, overheads and running costs. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatAlleged irregularities came to light during the 2019 financial year from an anonymous whistleblower concerning inappropriate travel expenses. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatDavid Moloney said he and Peter Ireton misappropriated hundreds of thousands of euro in cash. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatBóthar has a revamped board with seven resignations since October 2020 and five new appointments in 2022. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatThe charity recorded a loss of €149,028 in 2020 after income slumped from €4.6 million to €3.44 million. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatAt the end of June 2020, Bóthar's total funds amounted to €1.29 million. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatThe cost of identified alleged fraud and related legal and other costs totals €1.2 million. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatThe cost of identified alleged fraud and connected legal costs totals €490,878 for the 12 months to the end of June 2021. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatA combined bill of €713,058 was incurred over the prior three-year period. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatThe estimated cost of the identified alleged fraud for 2021 totals €28,025, bringing the total over four years to €393,583. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatDavid Moloney resigned as CEO of the charity in February 2021. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatPeter Ireton, the former chief executive, passed away in April 2021. (limerickpost.ie)
- whatDavid Moloney said in the High Court that he and Peter Ireton misappropriated hundreds of thousands of euro in cash. (limerickpost.ie)
- whenThe alleged misappropriation of funds first came to public attention in 2021 through High Court injunction proceedings against David Moloney (limerickleader.ie)
- whenAlleged irregularities first came to light during the 2019 financial year from an anonymous whistleblower concerning inappropriate travel expenses (limerickleader.ie)
- whenThe alleged misappropriation first came to public attention in 2021 through High Court injunction proceedings against David Moloney. (limerickpost.ie)
- investigationThe actions of the former CEOs remain the subject of both criminal (Garda) investigation and civil litigation (limerickleader.ie)
- investigationThe Charity Regulator Authority has commenced a separate investigation (limerickleader.ie)
- investigationThe Charity Regulator Authority is also undertaking a separate investigation. (limerickpost.ie)
- investigationThere are ongoing investigations into the various activities by the former CEOs over a substantial number of years. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtThe alleged fund misappropriation first came to public attention through High Court proceedings brought by Bóthar in 2021. (limerickpost.ie)
- otherBóthar has a revamped board recording seven resignations since October 2020 and five new appointments in 2022 (limerickleader.ie)
- otherThe newly filed accounts were approved by directors on Monday July 3. (limerickpost.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 7 Jul2023Cost of alleged fraud and legal bills at Bóthar reach €1.2million
Reports newly filed accounts showing total fraud and legal costs of €1.2 million; auditor issued a disclaimer of opinion; directors note substantial costs in pursuing matters connected to the alleged fraud; ongoing investigations into former CEOs' activities.
suspect, David Moloney, male, named, irish (judged from name)David Moloneysuspect, Peter Ireton, male, named, irish (judged from name)Peter Ireton - 15 Feb2023Alleged fraud has cost Limerick charity more than €700,000
Provides detailed financial impact figures from Bóthar's first approved accounts in four years, including the specific fraud amount (€365,558), legal costs (€347,500), the sale of a Dublin office for €552,280, staff reductions, and the auditor's disclaimer of opinion. Confirms ongoing Garda criminal investigation, civil litigation, and a separate Charity Regulator Authority inquiry.
suspect, David Moloney, male, named, irish (judged from name)David Moloneysuspect, Peter Ireton, male, named, irish (judged from name)Peter Ireton - 14 Feb2023Cost of alleged fraud scandal at Limerick based charity totals over €700,000
Provides the newly filed 2020 and 2019 accounts showing the total cost of identified alleged fraud and legal costs at €713,058, a disclaimer of opinion from the independent auditor, and confirmation that criminal (Garda) and civil investigations remain ongoing.
suspect, David Moloney, male, named, irish (judged from name)David Moloneysuspect, Peter Ireton, male, named, irish (judged from name)Peter Ireton