Abdullah Khan refuses probation reports ahead of sentencing for arson at Conor McGregor's pub and assault of garda
Abdullah Khan, a 24-year-old Irish man and self-described jihadist, pleaded guilty to eight offences after being charged with setting fire to Conor McGregor's Black Forge Inn pub in Dublin 12 on 25 July 2025 and stabbing Garda Gary Lynch in the arm on Capel Street on 29 July 2025. He was also charged with two counts of engaging in terrorist activity, producing a knife, and two counts of endangerment, and said he was protesting against insults to the Prophet Mohammed. At a hearing on 13 July 2026 before Dublin's Special Criminal Court, sentencing was delayed because the probation service was constrained in producing a full risk assessment due to Khan's lack of co-operation, and the court ordered a forensic psychiatric assessment. At a further hearing on 27 July 2026, Khan refused to engage with probation officers or psychologists, and Judge Karen O'Connor said the court was disappointed, setting sentencing for 12 October 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court13 Jul
3 reports - Convicted27 Jul
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- On 25 July 2025, Khan poured petrol on the front door of the Black Forge Inn on Drimnagh Road, Dublin 12, and set it on fire with a match.
- On 29 July 2025, Khan stabbed Garda Gary Lynch in the arm with a knife on Capel Street, Dublin, while shouting Allahu Akbar, and attempted to assault Garda Patrick Nevin.
- Khan was tackled by a member of the public before being arrested by Garda Nevin.
- Cause
- Khan said he was protesting against insults to the Prophet Mohammed and was angry at the Irish State.
- Weapon
- Khan used a knife to stab Garda Lynch and poured petrol on the pub's front door, lighting it with a match.
- Charges
- Khan pleaded guilty to eight offences, including two counts of engaging in terrorist activity, producing a knife, and two counts of endangerment.
- In court
- On 13 July 2026, Dublin's Special Criminal Court delayed sentencing because the probation service was constrained in producing a full risk assessment due to Khan's lack of co-operation, and ordered a forensic psychiatric assessment.
- On 27 July 2026, Khan refused to engage with probation officers or psychologists, and Judge Karen O'Connor said the court was disappointed, setting sentencing for 12 October 2026.
- Investigation
- Detective Inspector Gavin Ross told the court that Khan was part of a wider group of like-minded radicals and that the SDU became involved due to concern Khan had been radicalised.
- Other details
- Khan, who has no previous convictions, had mental health issues, had been homeless for a period, and was inspired by Islamic State, having listened to Musab al-Zarqawi online from age 18.
- The cost of repairing damage to the Black Forge Inn was placed at more than €62,000.
57 statements extracted from the articles
- whatCCTV showed Khan approach Garda Lynch from behind and stab him in the arm with a knife. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatKhan was tackled by a member of the public before being arrested by Garda Nevin. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatKhan admitted to the arson attack on the Black Forge Inn on 25 July 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatCCTV showed Khan pouring petrol on the Black Forge Inn and setting it on fire with a match. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whatCCTV showed Khan approaching Garda Lynch from behind and stabbing him in the arm with a knife. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatKhan set fire to a pub owned by Conor McGregor (irishtimes.com)
- whatOn 25 July 2025 at the Black Forge Inn, Drimnagh Road, Dublin 12, Khan committed arson by pouring petrol on the front door and lighting it with a match (irishtimes.com)
- whatOn 29 July 2025 at Capel Street, Khan assaulted Garda Gary Lynch causing him harm (irishtimes.com)
- whatKhan attempted to assault Garda Patrick Nevin (irishtimes.com)
- whatKhan is an Islamic State-inspired, self-described jihadist (irishtimes.com)
- whatKhan pleaded guilty to eight offences (irishtimes.com)
- whatKhan was charged with two counts of engaging in terrorist activity (irishtimes.com)
- whereGarda Lynch and Garda Patrick Nevin were on patrol in the Capel Street area of Dublin when the attack happened. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whereThe arson occurred at The Black Forge Inn, Drimnagh Road, Dublin 12 (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe assault on Garda Lynch occurred at Capel Street (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe arson occurred on 25 July 2025 (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe assault on Garda Lynch occurred on 29 July 2025 (irishtimes.com)
- causeKhan was protesting against insults to the Prophet Mohammed. (dublinlive.ie)
- causeKhan said he was angry at the Irish State (irishtimes.com)
- weaponKhan poured petrol on the front door and lit it with a match (irishtimes.com)
- investigationDetective inspector Gavin Ross told the court lines of inquiry were still open regarding some statements taken by Gardaí. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationDet Insp Gavin Ross told the court Khan was part of a wider group of like-minded radicals (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe SDU became involved due to concern Khan had been radicalised (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKhan pleaded guilty to charges relating to the stabbing on 29 July and the arson attack on the Black Forge Inn days earlier. (dublinlive.ie)
- chargeKhan pleaded guilty to eight charges (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKhan was charged with producing a knife during the Capel Street incident (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKhan was charged with two counts of endangerment (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKhan was charged with two counts of engaging in terrorist activity or terrorist-linked activity (irishtimes.com)
- courtAnother hearing was scheduled for 27 July 2026. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- courtKhan appeared before Dublin's Special Criminal Court on Monday 13 July 2026. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe court ordered a full forensic assessment by the prison psychiatrist. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe probation services were constrained in carrying out a risk assessment because of the nature of Khan's co-operation (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court would require comprehensive pre-release planning with effective risk-assessment management (irishtimes.com)
- courtCounsel for Khan said the defendant was willing to abide by the conditions in the probation report (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge sent the matter back to probation services to see if Khan engages (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case was adjourned to 27 July (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan had entered a guilty plea at the earliest opportunity and had apologised to all those affected. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherKhan indicated he was not a very stable person, had battled with mental health issues, and had been homeless for a period. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherKhan did not trust doctors or psychologists and had resisted his family's attempts to get him to seek professional help. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherKhan had been living in the family home at the time of the attack. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan was born in Ireland and is the youngest of six siblings. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan has no previous convictions. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe cost of repairing the damage to the Black Forge Inn was placed at more than €62,000. (irishmirror.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- otherSentencing was delayed because the probation service was constrained in producing a full risk assessment. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan shouted 'Allahu Akbar' before stabbing the officer. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan expressed support for the Islamic State during subsequent interviews. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan had been in a mental health crisis, was not a very stable person, and had been homeless for a period. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan told Gardaí he 'just snapped' and had 'lost perception of time'. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan had spent some time studying abroad in Pakistan but found it difficult and returned to Ireland. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherKhan has not co-operated with a psychologist trying to carry out a risk assessment (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan was inspired by Isis (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan agreed to undergo a full assessment by a prison psychologist (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan has an address in Dublin that cannot be published due to a court order (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan is part of a wider group of like-minded radicals (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan began listening to Islamic State and al-Qaeda militant Musab al-Zarqawi online from age 18 (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan referenced the four core principles of Salafi jihadism in his Garda interviews (irishtimes.com)
- otherKhan said it was a message to the Irish Government about insulting the prophet (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Jul2026Isis-inspired man who set fire to Conor McGregor’s pub refuses probation reports
Khan refused to engage with probation officers and psychologists ahead of sentencing; Judge O'Connor said the court was 'disappointed' and that he will require 'significant post-release supervision'; sentencing set for 12 October 2026; details of his Salafi jihadist ideology and motivation provided.
convicted, Abdullah Khan, 24, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Abdullah Khanvictim, Gary Lynch, male, irish (judged from name)Gary Lynchvictim, Patrick Nevin, male, irish (judged from name)Patrick Nevinvictim, Conor McGregor, male, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregor - 14 Jul2026Sentencing of self-described jihadist who stabbed garda on Dublin’s Capel Street put back for assessment
Reports on the Monday court hearing where the court learned Khan had not co-operated with a psychologist's risk assessment, the probation service was constrained in its assessment, and the case was adjourned to 27 July 2026 for Khan to undergo a full prison psychologist assessment.
convicted, Abdullah Khan, 24, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Abdullah Khanvictim, Gary Lynch, male, irish (judged from name)Gary Lynchvictim, Patrick Nevin, male, irish (judged from name)Patrick Nevinvictim, Conor McGregor, male, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregor - 13 Jul2026Sentencing delayed for man who stabbed garda and set fire to McGregor's pub
Details of the 13 July 2026 hearing: sentencing delayed pending risk assessment; court-ordered forensic psychiatric assessment; additional background on Khan's mental health, homelessness, radicalisation as a Salafi jihadist, and his stated motives relating to insults to the Prophet Mohammed and Conor McGregor.
victim, male, Irish, irishvictim, Patrick Nevin, male, Irish, irishPatrick Nevinvictim, Conor McGregor, male, Irish, irishConor McGregorconvicted, Abdullah Khan, 24, male, Irish, named, irishAbdullah Khan - 13 Jul2026Isis supporter who set fire to Conor McGregor's pub yet to learn fate
Court hearing on 13 July 2026 where sentencing was delayed due to incomplete risk assessment; next hearing set for 27 July 2026; additional detail on Khan's background, mental health, and stated motives provided.
victim, male, irish (judged from name)victim, Patrick Nevin, male, irish (judged from name)Patrick Nevinvictim, Conor McGregor, male, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregorsuspect, Abdullah Khan, 24, male, named, irish (judged from name)Abdullah Khan