17-year-old boy on bail over hammer and hatchet attack on woman in Dublin 7
A 17-year-old boy on bail appeared at Dublin Children's Court for a preliminary hearing and trial venue adjudication in connection with a group attack on a 37-year-old woman at Henrietta House, Dublin 7, on 26 September 2024, in which he is accused of false imprisonment, assault causing harm, and producing a metal pole, hammer and hatchet. Judge Paul Kelly adjourned the hearing for two weeks, and seven other men aged 20 to 54 face related charges.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court7 Jan
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports29 statements extracted from the articles
- whatAyo Egbon is 37 years old and lives at Broomhill House, Swords Road, Dublin (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHe is a father of three (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHe was previously described as a learner truck driver (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe 17-year-old boy is accused of using a hammer and a hatchet during a group attack on a woman held in a Dublin flat. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe attack took place at Henrietta House, Dublin 7. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe offences allegedly took place from February 2017 until February 2020 (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe additional offence took place from July 2 to 14, 2021 (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe attack occurred on 26 September 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe boy is also accused of producing a metal pole, hammer and hatchet during the alleged attack. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe case follows a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDisclosure of evidence was received on Monday afternoon and came in 200 pages including text message reports. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe was charged under money-laundering legislation (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe was initially charged with acquiring, possessing, using, or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account knowing or reckless to it being proceeds of crime (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe was additionally charged with possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds at Fire Financial Services LTD CHQ Building, Custom House Quay, Dublin 1 (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe boy faces allegations of false imprisonment and assault causing harm to the complainant, aged 37. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Deirdre Gearty at Dublin District Court granted a return-for-trial order sending the case to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case will be listed for mention on February 27 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at a higher level with wider sentencing powers (irishmirror.ie)
- courtFree legal aid including junior and senior counsel was granted on application by defence barrister Kevin McCrave (irishmirror.ie)
- courtHe must reside at the address given and not go on any internet dating or matchmaking sites (irishmirror.ie)
- courtHe had to surrender his passport and must not apply for alternative travel documents (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Paul Kelly adjourned the hearing for two weeks. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe had already lost employment in relation to the matters (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe proceeds were described as being from romance fraud (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe alleged injured party was from Finland (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe boy cannot be identified because he is a minor. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe boy is on bail. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe boy has yet to enter a plea. (irishtimes.com)
- otherSeven men aged between 20 and 54 are also before the courts on related charges. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 7 Jan2025Boy (17) accused of hammer and hatchet attack on woman in Dublin
The boy appeared at Dublin Children's Court for a preliminary hearing and adjudication on trial venue; the hearing was adjourned for two weeks. Defence counsel noted 200 pages of disclosure including text message reports. Seven other men aged 20 to 54 are before the courts on related charges.
victim, 37, femaleaccused, 17, male - 7 Jan2025Trial to go ahead in €355k alleged 'romance fraud' case
Reports that Ayo Egbon was sent forward for trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (listed for mention 27 February) on two money-laundering charges totalling €355,472 in crime proceeds from a romance fraud, with the DPP directing trial on indictment. Bail conditions include a ban on dating websites and surrender of passport.
accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ayo Egbonvictim, non-irish (judged from name)